We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down the best restaurant in Venice!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassariano Italian Eatery

Cassariano Italian Eatery
313 West Venice Avenue, Venice, FL 34285
941-485-0507
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cassariano Italian Eatery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 215 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nassau Rd
sarasota county
1 review
“Hands down the best restaurant in Venice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The food is spectacular!! Try the pounded breaded chicken over arugula, or the bacon wrapped pork filet, or the pasta with the mushrooms. Truly fantastic!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    96
    31
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luca treats people like family and his restaurant is THE BEST IN VENICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I'm not going to tell you how wonderful this place is because then there won't be an open table for me! My favorite place for a sweetie date night.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice small Italian restaurant with very good food and a fine wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Cassariano's is on the main commercial street of Venice Island. It is a small but very lovely spot with a wonderful accommodating staff. The food is generally very good to excellent. In three years of going there, we have not had a bad dish and many fine ones. The appetizers tend to be large and we have found that it pays to share. The main courses are substantial as are the pasta courses (which are also nice to share). This is Florida and seafood is the key to most of the best dishes at Cassariano's. The grouper and swordfish are always fresh and one of the best items on the starters menu is swordfish carpaccio. There are meat dishes and one of our party had the steak which was cooked perfectly and very tasty. The wine list is above average because of the value and quality of the selections. You won't find the big names of Italian wine here but you will discover some great choices from Sicily and other non-Tuscan parts of Italy. We always enjoy a lunch or dinner at this nice place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Surprising FInd and a Wonderful Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Excellent service (Thank you Nicola). The wait staff were wonderfully attentive without being overbearing and interestingly conversative without being intrusive. The menu offered wonderful choices and the specials (we ate this evening's specials) were creative and delicious. I had the encrusted salmon on a bed of amazing tiny lentils - the salmon portion was HUGE and I was certain there was a mistake as it was easily enough for two. My darling wife had the special ravioli with delicate flavors that blended so deliciously (spinach, cheese, olive oil). A filling, totally delightfull delicious dining experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best of a good lot of fine restuarants in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We returned to Massachusetts in late January 2010 and like many went to your website to see what others had said about local eateries. We were struck by the fact that so many of the negative reviews of Venice restaurants we had visited cited poor service. We found the service to be just about universally excellent. Perhaps the smaller places in Venice struggle to keep up during the high seasons.

We ate twice at Cassariano. The place was full both times but we lucked out and had minimal wait for service. Our servers were friendly and knowledgeable. We chose affordable Italian reds and whites from the predominately Italianate list and were quite satisfied. My guess is that comparable California wines would $15-20 retail. Good start.

We split a $12.00 appetizer both times. The first was ultra thin sliced beef with Arugula leaves and a light dressing. We loved it. The second night we tried the thin-sliced swordfish with the green & dressing. Loved it also. And it was like having an appetizer and salad in one serving. Entrees were affordable and delicious.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassariano Italian Eatery also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cassariano Italian Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassariano Italian Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.