We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Municipal Beach

Venice Municipal Beach
Venice, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Attractions in Venice
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a pretty beach, and almost in the middle of town. We didn't get a chance to swim as time was short and it was early evening, but we walked and watched a group of people clamming. Hope we have another chance to visit this nice beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    95
    35
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinsman, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

nice beach, just wish they kept the beach cleaner. the farther you walk toward the jettys the dirtier it gets. it needs a good raking with a tractor.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Ontario
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Expected better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We thought we'd check other beaches for next vacation so we drove from Sarasota along S Tamiami Tr. through to Venice. We checked everything in between and when in Venice all we thought was to get back to Lido Key. We checked the beaches, walked on the pier where one of the people fishing said there was a small shark right there, not far from people in the water! The water along the shore seemed deeper than it was a hundred feet out, lots of dark clouds in the water that were schools of fish. There were no lifeguard stations. Did not inspire us to vacation there. Cannot see small children safely on that shore. Over-cautious on the safe side.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice amenities beach good for older children and up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This beach was very nice. The pavilion had clean bathrooms and a nice big sand shower and the boardwalks to get on the beach were well placed. Plenty of parking. It is a steep beach so it might be hard for toddlers and young children unfamiliar with the beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved the beach! Water was the perfect temperature. We stayed until sunset! We saw two manarays swimming around the shoreline!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Municipal Beach also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Venice Municipal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Municipal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.