We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aug trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Commercial Court, Venice, FL 34292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Venice
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“aug trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Overall was excellent except for room makeup problem which was efficiently handled by management. Breakfasts were excellent and overall service excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms and lobby excellently maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
We appreciate the opportunity you gave us to wow you with our guest services. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Venice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    60
    20
    18
    11
See reviews for
66
64
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend due to a death in the family. They gave us a reasonable group rate. The hotel was clean. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They gave us a late check out on the day of the funeral.
The pool was small, the workout room only had treadmills, the food was not that great (they serve breakfast) but tolerable. Overall the hotel served it's purpose for what we needed.
The main thing for me was cleanliness and friendly staff.
I have no complaints.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Under the circumstance of your stay with us we would like to thank you and all your family for choosing to stay with us. We are hopeful that your next visit with us will be more pleasant and even better then the first stay. Our condolences go out to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff at the front desk is great--each young lady was friendly, helpful, engaging. (--Especially Roxy, who always greeted us with a happy smile.) But-- past the lobby, things go down hill. It's the little things that count, and here the hotel fails. INTERNET: --the worst access I've ever encountered in any respectable property. It's OK in the afternoon, when guests are gone, are out, or have not yet arrived. But by early evening, as the hotel begins to fill up, the Wi-Fi slows to a crawl, often so few bars you cannot even pull up your e-mail. I travel with a lap top with a great number of business files on it, and this alone would be enough to discourage any return. BREAKFAST--I'm convinced the omelets were Pre-Fab. Ugh! At other Holiday Inn Express motels, the scrambled eggs are fresh. Why not here? HOUSEKEEPING-- we stayed three nights. Never was a second bar of soap left, or the first one refreshed. And I think we were short-changed on fresh towels one day, too. ROOM-- clean and comfortable, yes, but a tad smaller than other HIX properties. (--This seems to be a bit older location, starting to show its age.) I've traveled a great deal in recent years, both for business and pleasure, and have learned to rely on Holiday Inn Express in places like McAlester, Okla.; Mt. Airy, N.C.; Metropolis, Ill.; Great Barrington, Mass.; & Abingdon, Va., to name just a few of the best. I know Venice, like many, is a franchise operation. But a note to HQ: you need to do a better job of inspections lest Venice diminish the reputation of an otherwise fine chain.

Room Tip: Try to avoid, even though there seems to be nothing noticeably better in Venice in terms of location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear oaktownboy_37,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you found our staff to be great. We would like to apologize for the challenges you had with our Internet connections and our breakfast selections was less than satisfactory. We also apologize for the experience you had with your room and the housekeeping service you received fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our three day stay turned into thirteen days due to our bank not processing our mortgage as promised. The Holiday Inn staff was very accomodating and helpful. The hotel's proximity to US 75 is a plus for travelers passing through.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us while awaiting the process of your closing date in order to move to the area. We look forward to seeing you with in our community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Customer Service we got at this hotel rivaled the service we got a much more expensive hotels. The staff is very friendly, welcoming, and beyond accommodating. From check in to check out, we didn't have a single issue. Breakfast was good, and the room was comfortable. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Andrew C,

As always we are extremely happy when our guests are happy with their stay. I will alert all the staff to take note that all their hard work to provide our guests with exceptional service has been noticed and praised. We look forward to your future visits to the Venice area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My Father and I stayed at this hotel and were waiting for an auto transport company to pick up my Dad's car to relocate to our new home. The transport company did not arrive at the time promised and we spent hours waiting in the hotels breakfast lobby. The staff, Anne and Amy, were so understanding and sympatric to our situation. They made an unbearable situation much easier to bear. We couldn't have asked for more helpful and awesome support staff. Kudos for selecting such wonderful employees.

Room Tip: No need for improvement... just plain awesome. Thank you, Jane
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Jane C,

The experience you have as a guest is the same experience you would have as a friend or family member. We treat all our guests as family or friends and always do the best we can do to exceed our guest expectations. Thank you for taking time to let our staff know how pleased you were with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My daughter and I were repairing my wife's parents home. With our allergies, we were not able to stay there while it was being repainted. We stayed three nights and they were wonderful from the cleaning staff, to the front desk and the ladies who keep the breakfast bar filled to the brim with yummy foods. Our room was always clean and bright. Everyone there always said hello, how you doing. I felt safe and at home there. I highly recommend this hotel. I plan to use it in the future for further visit to my in-laws!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Paul A,
Hopefully all the repairs have been made and completed, we were all pleased to have you and your daughter stay with us. Thank you and we look forward to entertaining your in-laws.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
4.6 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 12 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Venice Resort
Ramada Venice Resort
#5 of 12 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador Suites Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Venice
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
3.8 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#9 of 12 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota

Address: 380 Commercial Court, Venice, FL 34292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Beach, our Venice hotel is close to Sarasota, and offers free WiFi, hot breakfast, and an outdoor pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota Hotel Venice
Holiday Inn Venice
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.