We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and attentive service for large group!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fins at Sharky's

Fins at Sharky's
1600 Harbor Drive South, Venice, FL 34285
+1 941-999-3467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and attentive service for large group!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We arrived timely for an 8P reservation with a group of 16. We were greeted promptly and waited 15 minutes to be seated (not unreasonable for such a large group. The restaurant is new and quite attractive, providing indoor as well as outdoor seating.
When we were seated we were met by our servers Sean and Linda, who were friendly, smiling and patient. We ordered appetizers and drinks that were delivered promptly.
The group ordered many different entrees and most were quite good; although in the 30-50 dollar range. We particularly enjoyed the Chilean sea bass and the Covina (a flavorful white meaty fish).
We were disappointed with the wine list, but still ordered three different wines, which were satisfactory, but not great. SUGGESTION: bring your own wine, but there is a $15.00 corking charge.
Service was good, but a little too expensive. All entrees are ala carte,
Requiring separate orders for soup and salads and desserts, each in the 8-10 dollar range.
Great location and great view of the Gulf and beach!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    86
    60
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice place, average food, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Went here last week for a birthday celebration We enjoyed the bread with hummus, olive tapenade and two diff cheese spreads. We each had a different type of beer-OK. Our entrees were prime rib, Alaskan king crab and wahoo. I had the crab, which was shelled in a buttery dish,and ome of it was fishy, a cold scoop of mashed potato and too hard grilled asparagus. The server said we prob wouldn't need the steak knife she brought for the prime rib but she was very wrong-not the best prime rib-on the tough side. Our guest enjoyed the wahoo that was served on some kind of sauce that he really enjoyed. Service was fine.
It's a beautiful place but overpriced for the quality of the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Too little, too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Location, location, location! Service- superb! Presentation - perfect! Taste - tantalizing. Portions - petite. Prices - preposterous! Once is a must. Once is enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

7 of had dinner recently at Fins. We were happy to be able to make a reservation unlike the original Sharkey's restaurant. The sunset was beautiful, unfortunately we were seated outside and once the sun was down it was very cool. They did have outdoor heaters which helped but we all kept our coats on. Those that ordered the lobster bisque felt it lacked flavor. The bread was warm and there were 4 different spreads to choose from. The grilled Caesar salad with Gorgonzola sauce was very good. All of our main courses which included the sea bass, white shrimp, snapper, and King crab were very good. For desert we chose the key lime creme brûlée which had a lot of flavor but the graham cracker crust was too thick for the desert. TIPS: the salads are large enough to share. Be prepared to sit outside. A three course meal with a glass of wine and tip was $60 a person

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endwell, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Has potential, but not quite there, yet.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We visited Fins on a Sunday evening at 4:30pm. We sat outside. Lovely roofed and screened balcony directly over the beach with Gulf views, heating lamps running along one side of the ceiling. Although we did not eat inside, the dining room looked very nice and spacious. Fins is expensive, probably one of the most expensive restaurants in Venice. When the vast majority of the entrees start at $30, and most glasses of wine start at $11, I expect that the meal will be a cut above. Unfortunately, our experience was mixed.

First, the good stuff. Nicely designed restaurant, beautiful views, helpful and friendly wait staff, and an extensive wine list. Interesting menu with unique pairings, very nice food presentation. The Grilled Gorgonzola Caesar Salad for $9 was excellent and plentiful. We shared a bowl of cinnamon gelato for dessert and it was yummy. The Lobster Bisque Au Gratin for $9 was delicious, but was actually a small cup-sized portion nestled in a larger plate. It also needed to be heated to a more optimum serving temperature as it was warm rather than hot. We chose to skip the Sushi offerings and focused on the seafood. The issues developed with the entrees. The Cozuela de Mariscos, which consisted of Atlantic Swordfish, Gulf grouper and shrimp and dayboat scallops, coconut broth, on a bed of saffron risotto for $31, had the potential to be a great dish. But, there was only ONE shrimp in the dish, which for $31, is ridiculous. Also, the dish came out warm, rather than hot. We asked our server to take it back to be heated up. It was steaming upon its return, but it turned out that only the top layer had heated, everything below was just room temperature. The Chilean Sea Bass for $35, which included sundried tomato parmesan crust, VOOC blood orange aioli, forbidden black rice, and broccolini, was another example of a beautifully presented dish, but not served hot enough.

We really had high hopes for Fins, and the potential is there, but it’s got a ways to go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins at Sharky's also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fins at Sharky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fins at Sharky's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.