We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Breeze Inn

Save Saved
You added Island Breeze Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Breeze Inn
340 South Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285-2422   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Celebrate Fall!!
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Venice
Sarasota, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We live in Sarasota County and wanted a close by Memorial Day vacation with our dog and were really happy to find the Island Breeze Inn. It is a historic old Florida motel that has been updated and is kept in tip top shade. Tile floors, small bathroom, basic decorating. I know it is not for some but we really loved it. Nice Pool. Venice is just the best for bikes and dogs. There is a great dog beach so we exhausted our dog at the beach. Then we walked to Venice Avenue which is the main street in downtown Venice. Lots of good restaurants to choose from. There was also a beer festival that weekend downtown which was fun. We were so tired one night we didnt feel like doing out for dinner. So we just walked to the Publix, got salads and were good to go.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights while we were visiting Venice for the first time. We really enjoyed staying there. We had a little lizard friend stay in our closet for 2 days. No big deal, it's Florida! The room was a little tight. If you have a small family it's works great. The beds were nice. The pool area was very clean and nice. It's not to far from the beach. If you are going to look for sharks teeth drive down to Caspersons Beach! We had alot of luck there. The lady's in the office were really nice also. Walgreens is right across the street. Sharky's on the Pier has some great food!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I am chemically sensitive, and it is hard for me to stay in hotels. Most use air fresheners and strong chemicals. When I called to book, the girl who booked me was very accommodating and understood my needs. They do not routinely use air fresheners and they were willing to air out the room. A few minutes later, she called me back and said that there was another room (with double instead of queen beds) which wasn't booked for that night, so it would have more time for the bleach to outgas. I was very impressed that they would take the time to call me back. I did well in the rooms (actually, we extended our stay and stayed in 2 rooms). Tiled floors, cotton blanket. The people were great! It is very clean. It is an older hotel, so one of the rooms presented some challenges accessing outlets. Love the area!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Close to the main road, Walgreens and Venice center. Rooms are small but with a home touch. We stayed there for 2 nights and had a great time. Very friendly staff. Would recommend this motel, but don`t expect world class. Expect hospitality and laid back atmosphere. I`ll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

An old hotel whose sign noted that the hotel was celebrating its 60th year at the end of 2011 was a pleasant enough stay for a night. I did stop in for the night at this hotel having read the review from the 4th edition of the Lonely Planet: Florida travel book. Now, this volume does state that there is a hefty Continental breakfast (which did interest me), but upon asking there was no breakfast offered. The restaurant The Clock is across the street for breakfast seekers who need food immediately. The hotel is apparently the oldest in Florida and it certainly has a degree of charm creating a nice nostalgic feeling. The room I had was furnished with two beds and bathroom. The Lonely Planet guide does say that the hotel is one of the quietest in Venice, but I caution travelers staying here in that the hotel is located on the 3 lanes (6 lanes total across) Tamiami Trail which has a lot of traffic on it regularly. For the sleeper who needs quiet or just hates to hear traffic, the building is old and the noise does seep in. I was located about 4-5 rooms back from Tamiami Trail. The room itself was clean and certainly was good enough for a night. The beds were ok in terms of comfort. Considering the location, I wouldn't want to spend much more time than that here. There is a small pool here and I did see a laundry room. However, since it is on the commercial mecca of Tamiami Trail, you should have no problem finding anything you need nearby. The price was terrific at less than $80. I don't believe the lady at the front desk really enjoyed her job.

Room Tip: Try to be as far away from Tamiami Trail as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We only stayed one night, but the price was the best in town and we only wanted a bed to sleep on. We had a King Room with a king bed that was very comfortable. The room was Florida block with paint on it, but adequate. The ceiling was wooden and had a nice varnish on it. The room was clean, but very small. Just enough room for the bed, a small table and a nightstand, and small fridge and microwave. The wifi worked fine.

The only complaint is the extremely small bathroom with a tiny toilet and a very small stand up shower with curtain and barely any water pressure. Also, they have a pool, but it is very tiny too.

The staff was very friendly and the hotel is dog friendly. They also have a Keurig coffee maker in office with free coffee.

I would stay there again, but only for a night or two at the most.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I guess this is what motels looked like in the 50'ies?
Rather run down and old fashioned. Some would propably find excactly that very charming.
We arrived very late and the lady had been very helpful about making sure we could get our room after the desk closed. Points for that.
The pool area was bizarre in an extremely kitchy way. A point for that too.
The rest we were not too impressed with. But clean and fine for a night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Breeze Inn

Address: 340 South Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285-2422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Venice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Venice Island, Florida, the Island Breeze Inn offers sparkling rooms full of charm, modern amenities, and exceptional customer service! Just blocks from palm tree-lined avenues full of antique shops, boutiques, and cafes, and only one mile to beautiful Venice Beach, the Island Breeze Inn is the BEST VALUE in the historic district! Free parking, free cable TV and Wi-Fi?, heated pool, microwave and refrigerator in each room...the friendliest staff and our manager on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Breeze Inn Of Venice Hotel Venice
Island Breeze Hotel Venice
Island Breeze Motel Venice
Island Breeze Inn Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Breeze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.