We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best veal Oscar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern

Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern
1968 Tarpon Center Dr, Venice, FL 34285-1035
+1 941-484-9551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 210 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Venice's Waterfront Landmark since 1976. We focus on fresh, creatively-prepared seafood, hand-cut steaks and chops and our award-winning wine list of over 1200 selections.
Venice, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best veal Oscar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Went to the Crow's Nest for dinner with two other couples. Food was delicious. Only problem is we had to wait for a table for 45 minutes even with reservations, Veal Oscar was the best I ever had, I will go back soon,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    211
    70
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Party for friends who were docked there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Party for 5 who had there boat docked at marina since I live in Venice wanted it to be nice experience and it was by all accounts. Got us in early and dinner was very good everyone was pleased I had the hog snapper it was So good! Now I know why this is my favorite place to take our visitors from out of town .

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always A Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We've been coming to The Crow's Nest Restaurant for several years now and is one of our favorites. We eat here at least 2-3 times a year and have always been served excellent food. The downstairs is the bar and they serve a separate menu down there--but much more than just bar food. We like the upstairs much better and the atmosphere is more upscale. I like the "Gunther" filet mignon and the fish is always fresh and delicious. Please try their side of Brussel sprouts in cream sauce...really, really good and enough for at least two.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Very busy in season and it showed a little with the staff. Service was good, but our server had no clue about wines. We were served the wrong wine twice. Food was a little bland, but ok. What makes this place is the view. BTW if you arrive by boat, (watch the tide) like we did, over tip the dockmaster. He is outstanding.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Busy ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This used to be one of our favorite places to dine while on vacation but this last experience put a damper on that. We were a party of 4 and after putting our name on the board we went upstairs to sit on the patio to have a drink. It took 15 minutes for our drink order just to be taken. Our waiter said he would be right back with our water (which we never asked for or needed). Our drinks came fairly quick and our waiter said that they ran out of water glasses so we would have to wait for our water. Again we told him we don't want nor need water. Anyway our names were called and we went downstairs to eat. The dining area in the pub is a fairly small area and in season it gets crowded, really, really crowded. For my taste, eliminating a couple table would make it a lot more customer friendly. Our waiter was prompt and we ordered our meals and an appetizer. The appetizer was very good. The problem was with the entrées. They took quite a while to get (we cleaned out a basket of crackers waiting) and out of the 4 meals ordered 2 of them were wrong. There was no sending them back at this point because by this time we were all starving and figured let's just eat. Well I can only speak for 2 of us but the fish (Mahi) and potatoes (baked, but ordered mashed) were not hot (actually the baked potato was closer to being cold). I think our meals sat under the warming light for some time. Now I realize that it was the height of their busy season but taking a step back and realizing good service and good food is more important than pushing numbers through the door may help. Will I come back here in 2015. I really don't know.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.