We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Level of Restaurant Nickel-Diming a-la-Airlines” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern

Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern
1968 Tarpon Center Dr, Venice, FL 34285-1035
+1 941-484-9551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Venice's Waterfront Landmark since 1976. We focus on fresh, creatively-prepared seafood, hand-cut steaks and chops and our award-winning wine list of over 1200 selections.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A New Level of Restaurant Nickel-Diming a-la-Airlines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Decent fresh seafood but customary cole slaw automatically served with certain dishes has disappeared; dinner rolls or bread do not accompany meal automatically but is now a separate a-la-carte charge of 50 cents per roll, if customer desires same.........fish and chips which in the past was a great menu item was 90% batter with a miniscule piece of fish. We used to be regulars at this establishment......decided to add this place to my list of dining places to avoid. It appears that it won't be long before they assess the diner for tap water and for a chair, unless you bring your own. Sad! sad! sad! sad! to see this decline of old reliable favorite!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowsnestvenicefl, Manager at Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi there! Cole slaw is, as always, available as a substitute for any side dish. Warm dinner rolls and flatbreads are complimentary with dinner. At lunch, we serve complimentary muffins and rolls may be had for $.50 per. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the Fish & Chips; did your server ask you how you were enjoying your meal? If not then I apologize as we certainly would have done anything possible to make your experience more pleasant had the manager on duty been informed of an issue. Finally, we will certainly not be "charging for tap water or a chair" so please don't worry yourself about that ever happening. Thanks for your candid review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    264
    89
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wife and I dined at the Crow's Nest twice this month -- once in the upstairs dining room and once in the tavern. Selections included Florida gulf shrimp, Nester shrimp and crabmeat salad, oysters Rockefeller, and grouper bites. Food, beverages and service were first-rate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Crowded But Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went to the Crow's Nest thanks to a gift card and were smart enough to make a reservation for the outside deck on a nice day.. The restaurant gets quite crowded during the season, with the downstairs restaurant dark and elbow-to-elbow with diners. We didn't feel like that kind of setting, but the deck worked out beautifully. I've posted a photo of our view. It's a bit pricey up there for Sunday lunch, though. Beware of the dinner menu and prices upstairs!

I ordered the shrimp with cheese grits. They come with a wonderful Cajun sauce on the grits, and we ended up eating them for a couple of meals--both lunch and a dinner at home--because there was so much. Bill ordered the crab cake appetizer and a side of grits, also very good, although the grits seemed bland to him in comparison to the Cajun ones. I also wanted a side of broccoli, which the waitress forgot. But when it arrived, it was wonderful. Cooked so that the broccoli wasn't too crunchy, steaming hot, and dripping with herb butter.

Luckily, the gift card was generous, so we came back for another lunch (and still have enough left over for one more). This time, I ordered the salad with grouper bites, which were light and perfectly cooked. The only oddity was the trail mix atop the salad. Would've been okay except for the raisins, which don't exactly go with black olives. Bill had the Crow's Nest burger and fries, also perfectly cooked and good.

Note: If you have a gift card, be sure to bring cash for a tip. They can't add it to the gift card charge. Apologies to Marlon! We'll bring cash to tip you next time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was worth the second trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We tried to have dinner but did not make a reservation. The wait was about an hour. So we went back for lunch. And I would highly recommend this restaurant. I had an appetizer for lunch, sushi tuna served over pickled cucumbers topped with a balsamic wasabi sauce, just perfect. My husband had a Florida Grouper sandwich, blackened. He said, "it was one of the best meals he has had in his life. My only recommendation is to make a reservation at least a week in advance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun very popular beach restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This restaurant is very busy, very popular usually crowded. You can expect fairly long waits for outside tables. Food is ok. Service is very good, very friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.