We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect a Crowd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharky's On The Pier

Sharky's On The Pier
1600 Harbor Drive South, Venice, FL 34285
941-488-1456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Expect a Crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We’ve been to Sharkey’s at least a dozen times over more than a decade. I guess we like it, eh? We have seen many changes, and there is massive construction under way right now. Who knows what the next iteration will look like? When a place is so heavily dependent on atmosphere, let’s hope the owners know what they’re doing. They have made all the right moves thus far. The popularity of this place is rather astounding.
A dozen times to Sharkey’s, yes, and we have never sat inside! I think the interior could be any seafood restaurant in Florida. The entire west side of the restaurant opens to the ocean, however, and that is where you want to be. Don’t start at the hostess stand out front (unless this is all changed with the renovation.) Walk around back by the pier and ask one of the wait-staff or bartenders which tables are reserved and which are first-come first-served. Put your name in, or scout the unreservable tables. The story seems to change from year to year, but you can always keep an eye on the unreservable tables and watch for diners that look like they’re about finished. It may sound impolite, but go over to their table and say, “Can we have this table after you are done?” They will reply one of two things, “Sure, we’ll be done in about five minutes.” Or, “Sorry, someone else already asked.” When you eventually score a table, I can guarantee that someone will ask you the same thing. Maybe it will be me.
We have also had luck doing a late lunch thing @ 3:00. Park @ Caspersen Beach, a mile to the south, walk north to the pier, then get something cold to drink @ Sharkey’s . . . now that’s a good plan.
You can wander in bare-footed, or you can dress up a little bit for the evening. The pier is right there, so you can walk out there while you wait for a table.
The food? Look at the menu; ask your server. I have found the servers to be very honest about what is good from visit to visit. There are some fun flavors on the menu; maybe you can find better fish elsewhere. For us, the whole scene has become a tradition.
Sharkeys on the Pier. Gotta do it. Expect a crowd.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    470
    255
    110
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“This place is just bad !!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Overpriced due to location.

Service is OK but not in proportion to the prices charged. Food is no better than the average you would get in a strip mall.
The reviewer on here who says he had a great grouper sandwich obviously hasn't had gulf grouper.
Suffers from lack of quantity and quality.

This place could be tremendous.

Replace the crap staff (they aren't all bad) and give value for $$$ instead of being a clip joint

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went here while vacationing in Siesta Key. We spent the day on venice beach, found some shark teeth and decided to go here for happy hour and food. After sitting down we were told they didn't have happy hour (what beach bar/restaurant doesn't have happy hour?!). We ordered drinks and some food. Food selection was ok. Service was not that good, we sat inside, there were not many tables, but our waitress sucked. We had to ask multiple times for water and other things like ketchup. I wouldn't recommend eating here, drive a little bit and go somewhere in Siesta Key.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, USA
2 reviews
“Best Grouper Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had the best grouper sandwich ever! Such a wonderful view of the beach and the pier looked awesome, unfortunately a bad storm came through and we were unable to walk the pier :-( We will visit again when we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Same excellent standard - FIVE years later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We first visited this excellent place 5 years ago when on holiday in the SW of Florida. This year we came back again staying in Rotonda West. We experienced a number of restaurants in the area and decided to revisit Sharky's. What a great decision. The restaurant has obviously done well as they are building a complete new up market restaurant alongside the original, looks impressive ! However back to the food and service, now. Top marks on both. Extreemly helpfuland polite service with quality food to match. My wife went for an up market Thai Salad which she loved and I went true American (from a British perspective) and had stripped pork with chese in a italian roll. Mine was superb and although I felt guilty afterwards, the walking in the Venice shops shed some of the guilty pounds.
Good prices for excellent food.
thank you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharky's On The Pier also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sharky's On The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharky's On The Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.