We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharky's On The Pier

Sharky's On The Pier
1600 Harbor Drive South, Venice, FL 34285
941-488-1456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Howell, Michigan
1 review
“Birthday Drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If your looking for a place to spend your birthday Justin the "manager" will do nothing to make your day special so as locals yes we are off to a place where ALL staff takes care of you!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    470
    255
    110
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Issue of Cleanliness”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If I had used their women's room before eating, I would have left. It had not been cleaned in many weeks. There were no towels to dry hands, there was a urinal with a sign that said "out of order" (yes, I did double check to make sure I was in the right restroom). There was dried spit in the non-working urinal. The corners of the floor were caked with old dirt as was the floor drain. If the public restroom looks like this, can you imagine the rooms that aren't exposed to the public? I will never recommend this restaurant or take guests here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sunset dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Great views on the beach with an attentive staff and good menu. We had the coconut shrimp and grouper combo - excellent. Get there ahead of sunset and book your reservation outside for 15 min after official time. Get there 30 before to walk out in the pier and see the sunset then retreat into the outside dining. Great evening.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLEWOOD
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Meet Your Friends Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Sharky's is like "under the clock" at the Roosevelt Hotel in New York. It's a great place to meet--if you can find a parking place. But if you find a place to park and get a seat--inside, outside, at the bar or on the roof garden--you will see and be seen.
I have usually had a burger and a beer, but there are a myriad of fried dishes, and a few grilled items to cover the menu.
Sharky's is on the beach and has--just next door--a town park where the symphony occasionally plays, and next door the other way there's a fishing pier (where tons of fisherpeople find the hours fly past when they are fishing) meaning the packed parking lot may not all be folks at Sharky's. Strike that, the place is always jammed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great drinks, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

12/4 Did some beach combing, stopped for lunch, put names on list for a table, leisurely walk of the pier, ordered frozen drinks at the bar. The table was the ready, had a really good lunch.
If we lived in the area we would be back often :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharky's On The Pier also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sharky's On The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharky's On The Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.