We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst restaurant experience in Venice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Daiquiri Deck

Daiquiri Deck
Venice Avenue West, Bank America Building, Venice, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 209 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Venice,Fl.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“worst restaurant experience in Venice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We are longtime residents of Venice and have never been so disappointed in a restaurant. We went with 2 friends and we were hoping for a good seafood restaurant on the main street in Venice. It was like walking in to Grand Central Station, the noise was deafening. The service was inexperienced and inefficient. The food was awful. We ordered grouper which was sent back burnt the first time, and came back like a piece of rubber the second time. Our friends also couldn't eat their food. The food tasted as if it had been frozen, and microwaved. We won't be going back and we want to warn people that this is nothing more than a noisy bar.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    56
    54
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice location, but food average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a busy place! Great patio seating on the busy street. Food was OK, but not great. The menu was large and advertised fresh fish. We ordered the sirloin steak sandwich (tasty and large) and the Key West Mahi Club (small piece of fish and lots of bread). Both came with fries. There was unlimited refills of soda so that was nice. The atmosphere was better than the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Three of us had lunch for 65 dollars and it was terriblle. Managers standing around looking important doing nothing. I think people in Venice are so desperate for something they think this is acceptable. if this place was in any other location it would be out of business. Sad. Thank god I live elsewhere.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, Ny
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Started with a frozen daiquiri (how can you not?). I expected it to be a little stronger but I enjoyed it anyway. I had a snapper sandwich that was great. Sat outside and it got a little hot in the sun (what else do you expected in Florida?). My wife and I had to swap seats because one seat was in the sun and the other had some shade.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is so noisy that you can't hold a conversation. Their happy hour gives you 2 drinks at a time instead of just charging at half price. This makes you have more drinks than you may want to have. There were no tables that were empty so I had to stand there holding 2 drinks until the noise drove us out to"The Grille at West Beach" which has no beach. That's another story.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daiquiri Deck also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Daiquiri Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daiquiri Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.