We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ready for prime time - at least this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Sun Inn

Save Saved
You added Island Sun Inn to your Saves list
Island Sun Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Sun Inn
625 So. Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Venice
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not ready for prime time - at least this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Room size was average and this one could have used some updating, but it was clean and the bed was nice. However - the bathroom window wouldn't completely close (opened to a semi-creepy back parking area), the sink drained very slowly, and in the morning (thank goodness) the toilet leaked, flooding the bathroom. This probably doesn't happen with every room, but we concluded it wasn't worth the bargain price. Except for those maintenance problems, though, we would probably come back. I agree with another reviewer - the pool area was probably the nicest feature.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Property Manager Office at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. Your input is much appreciated as we strive to deliver the best guest experience. We recently renovated all of the rooms with restored terrazzo floors, new furnishings, bathroom fixtures and flat screen TVs. Additionally, we redesigned our courtyard BBQ area and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. I think with all of that said, we are surely ready for "Prime Time" and look forward to seeing you again. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were disappointed when we arrived and considered changing our plans. There was trash outside our entry door. The hotel is slightly outdated and the carpet is in need of replacement. Not a comfortable night sleep.

We enjoyed the pool area and the location was close to Venice Beach which was nice.

We stayed in three different places on this trip and this one was the most expensive. The others were less expensive and updated. Maybe it is just an expensive area to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Property Manager Office at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. Your input is much appreciated as we strive to deliver the best guest experience. We are glad you didn't change your plans and are certain you next stay will be much better. We recently renovated all of the rooms with restored terrazzo floors, new furnishings, bathroom fixtures and flat screen TVs. Additionally, we redesigned our courtyard BBQ area and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the island casual environment we have created in this little gem near Venice Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norther Central PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The cons: No bathroom fan, toilet was very low, which makes it hard for older folks with bad knees, the entry door via the parking lot was really dirty...but only on the outside... no problem on the inside. These were really not big issues but worth mentioning. The pros: Very clean (a priority for me) great location, each room has its parking space right in front of the door, friendly staff, central courtyard with a nice pool and grills and charcoal for cooking out. The bed was comfortable and the room had a refrigerator and microwave, cable TV and a fast internet connection. Free coffee was offered in the office each morning. My husband and I thought it was a very nice and reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Property Manager Office at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. Your input is much appreciated as we strive to deliver the best guest experience. You will surely be more satisfied as we recently renovated all of the rooms with restored terrazzo floors, new furnishings, bathroom fixtures and flat screen TVs. Additionally, we redesigned our courtyard BBQ area and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the island casual environment we have created in this little gem near Venice Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We blocked off 11 rooms at a special discount rate, but I think they said the minimum for the discount was only 8 rooms. We had family come in town for my wedding (See Kelly Austin's review). This hotel is being renovated, so more of the refreshed rooms will be available soon. The rooms and bathrooms are on the small side, but they're pretty decent and the courtyard had us sold. The rooms make a big rectangle around it and there is a nice sized heated pool. One door to the room opens to the parking lot. The other is a French door to the courtyard. The hotel is also attached to Blu Bistro, which has indoor and outdoor seating and friendly staff. It was great to have everyone at the same location and that staff were very friendly. Thank you, Island Sun Inn!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newly renovated rooms, if you can, and book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My daughter's wedding was in Venice, and we had a lot of family coming from out of town. The motel allowed me to block off 11 rooms, at a special rate. The kids were able to enjoy the heated pool, and it was very convenient to have us all together in the same place. It is an older property, the rooms are outdated, but the courtyard is wonderful. I'd give it a higher review if coffee was more easily available. The office didn't open until 9:00AM, and the restaurant didn't open until 7:30. For those of us who were up by 6:00, this was an inconvenience. Having the refrigerator and microwave was nice, but a small coffeepot would have been even better. Bring your own!

Room Tip: This is a one story motel. There are some rooms that have been remodeled. Ask if one is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

asst mgrs are wonderful; cleaning is B+ rating. Pool wonderful & washer/dryer onsite much
appreciated. Price in December surprisingly affordable. Attached bistro nice & always busy w/ local patrons. LorieRT and N1TP reviews very accurate & well written.

Room Tip: choose Island Sun Inn over its sister inn because of the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Property Manager Office at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. We recently renovated all of the rooms with restored terrazzo floors, new furnishings, bathroom fixtures and flat screen TVs. Additionally, we redesigned our courtyard BBQ area and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the island casual environment we have created in this little gem near Venice Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Older 1-story motel but over-all a REAL bargain. Much lower room rates than most other Venice area motels, particularly those adjacent to the beaches.

Great location; only 7/10th mile South of (Historic) Venice Avenue. 1.9 miles from from Beach. Short walk to Venice Regional Medical Hospital.

Exceptionally quiet after dusk.

Our room was very clean. The staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. Rooms have back door access to very large (lushly landscaped) courtyard and large - crystal clear - pool.

The wonderful "Blu Island Bistro" restaurant is on the premises = wonderful breakfasts. We ate breakfast there 5 mornings. Probably wonderful also for lunch and dinner, but we decided to try other Venice restaurants that were "new" to us.

All rooms have small refrigerator and microwave. Cable TV has over 100 channels. Guest laundry on the premises. One bedroom suites with full kitchen are available.

(941) 488-4417.

Booking online is available at: www.IslandBreezeInn.com

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandbreezeinn, Manager at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the kind words about the changes we have made to the property thus far. We have nearly completed our first full room renovation and we hope to have pictures posted as soon as next week. We appreciate you including our contact information with your review. However, that contact information is actually for our sister location. The contact information for this location as shown at the top of the page is:

Island Sun Inn
(941)484-9559
info@islandsuninn.com

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Sun Inn

Address: 625 So. Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Sun Hotel Venice
The Veranda Hotel
Veranda Hotel Venice
Island Sun Inn Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Sun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.