We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and convenient with heated pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Sun Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Sun Inn to your Saves list
Island Sun Inn
625 So. Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall reduced to $79/night
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Venice
Englewood, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and convenient with heated pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We blocked off 11 rooms at a special discount rate, but I think they said the minimum for the discount was only 8 rooms. We had family come in town for my wedding (See Kelly Austin's review). This hotel is being renovated, so more of the refreshed rooms will be available soon. The rooms and bathrooms are on the small side, but they're pretty decent and the courtyard had us sold. The rooms make a big rectangle around it and there is a nice sized heated pool. One door to the room opens to the parking lot. The other is a French door to the courtyard. The hotel is also attached to Blu Bistro, which has indoor and outdoor seating and friendly staff. It was great to have everyone at the same location and that staff were very friendly. Thank you, Island Sun Inn!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newly renovated rooms, if you can, and book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plant City, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My daughter's wedding was in Venice, and we had a lot of family coming from out of town. The motel allowed me to block off 11 rooms, at a special rate. The kids were able to enjoy the heated pool, and it was very convenient to have us all together in the same place. It is an older property, the rooms are outdated, but the courtyard is wonderful. I'd give it a higher review if coffee was more easily available. The office didn't open until 9:00AM, and the restaurant didn't open until 7:30. For those of us who were up by 6:00, this was an inconvenience. Having the refrigerator and microwave was nice, but a small coffeepot would have been even better. Bring your own!

Room Tip: This is a one story motel. There are some rooms that have been remodeled. Ask if one is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

asst mgrs are wonderful; cleaning is B+ rating. Pool wonderful & washer/dryer onsite much
appreciated. Price in December surprisingly affordable. Attached bistro nice & always busy w/ local patrons. LorieRT and N1TP reviews very accurate & well written.

Room Tip: choose Island Sun Inn over its sister inn because of the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Property Manager Office at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. We recently renovated all of the rooms with restored terrazzo floors, new furnishings, bathroom fixtures and flat screen TVs. Additionally, we redesigned our courtyard BBQ area and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the island casual environment we have created in this little gem near Venice Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Older 1-story motel but over-all a REAL bargain. Much lower room rates than most other Venice area motels, particularly those adjacent to the beaches.

Great location; only 7/10th mile South of (Historic) Venice Avenue. 1.9 miles from from Beach. Short walk to Venice Regional Medical Hospital.

Exceptionally quiet after dusk.

Our room was very clean. The staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. Rooms have back door access to very large (lushly landscaped) courtyard and large - crystal clear - pool.

The wonderful "Blu Island Bistro" restaurant is on the premises = wonderful breakfasts. We ate breakfast there 5 mornings. Probably wonderful also for lunch and dinner, but we decided to try other Venice restaurants that were "new" to us.

All rooms have small refrigerator and microwave. Cable TV has over 100 channels. Guest laundry on the premises. One bedroom suites with full kitchen are available.

(941) 488-4417.

Booking online is available at: www.IslandBreezeInn.com

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandbreezeinn, Manager at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the kind words about the changes we have made to the property thus far. We have nearly completed our first full room renovation and we hope to have pictures posted as soon as next week. We appreciate you including our contact information with your review. However, that contact information is actually for our sister location. The contact information for this location as shown at the top of the page is:

Island Sun Inn
(941)484-9559
info@islandsuninn.com

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

When we pulled up, I asked my husband if he wanted to cancel our reservation. The outside is run down and scary looking! Inside smelled good and was charming. No hair dryer, but the pool area was clean and the pool itself was cleaner than some big name hotel chains we've stayed at. It's a cute place inside but for the $70, I'd rather stay at a different hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the office and pool feel "safer" then the ones in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here the second week of April 20th thru 23rd, in room 110, for 3 nights. King size bed, fridge, microwave. We were there looking at homes. People were nice in the office. Pool was nice. Room was roomy, but we would get out of the shower and walking from the bathroom to our bed our feet would be black with dirt! Ewww. The motel is build around the pool, as in a garden style. They do have housekeeping but she never showed up the second day. We didnt say anything. Not sure why..the pool is a nice area, with barbques. The liitle bestro attached in the front of the building was good though. I would not stay here again, just because of the floors. Bathroom was very run down too, but old florida, so we wont complain about that. Just the carpet should be pulled out and maybe tile put in. Price was ok. Would have spent a few extra bucks for clean floors.

Room Tip: Take your slippers! Don't wear white sock either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandbreezeinn, Manager at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We understand that the carpeting needs to be removed and we are currently in the process of renovating the entire property. We took over the hotel in August of last year and renovations have been ongoing since that time. The courtyard area and the bistro were the first things to be done and as you mentioned, those areas are very nice. We are just now completing our first rooms and hope to have those available shortly. We will continue to do everything we can to keep the the rooms up to our standards until the renovations are complete and we hope that you will give us a second chance in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The new owner of the property is doing a great job with an older property. The rooms were confortable, and clean. The young ladies who cleaned the room did an excellent job. The onsite restaurant "Blu" served great breakfasts and lunches! The inner outdoor courtyard was very nice including tables, chairs, and unbrellas to sit in the sun and enjoy the beautiful Florida weather. The pool was great as well. I would recommend staying there if you are looking for a moderate to inexpensive place to stay.

Room Tip: They have several grills in the outdoor courtyard which guest can use. If you are travelling with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Sun Inn

Address: 625 So. Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Island Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Sun Hotel Venice
The Veranda Hotel
Veranda Hotel Venice
Island Sun Inn Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Sun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.