We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Island Sun Inn to your Saves list
Island Sun Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 So. Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Venice
Plant City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My daughter's wedding was in Venice, and we had a lot of family coming from out of town. The motel allowed me to block off 11 rooms, at a special rate. The kids were able to enjoy the heated pool, and it was very convenient to have us all together in the same place. It is an older property, the rooms are outdated, but the courtyard is wonderful. I'd give it a higher review if coffee was more easily available. The office didn't open until 9:00AM, and the restaurant didn't open until 7:30. For those of us who were up by 6:00, this was an inconvenience. Having the refrigerator and microwave was nice, but a small coffeepot would have been even better. Bring your own!

Room Tip: This is a one story motel. There are some rooms that have been remodeled. Ask if one is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

asst mgrs are wonderful; cleaning is B+ rating. Pool wonderful & washer/dryer onsite much
appreciated. Price in December surprisingly affordable. Attached bistro nice & always busy w/ local patrons. LorieRT and N1TP reviews very accurate & well written.

Room Tip: choose Island Sun Inn over its sister inn because of the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Property Manager Office at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. We recently renovated all of the rooms with restored terrazzo floors, new furnishings, bathroom fixtures and flat screen TVs. Additionally, we redesigned our courtyard BBQ area and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the island casual environment we have created in this little gem near Venice Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Older 1-story motel but over-all a REAL bargain. Much lower room rates than most other Venice area motels, particularly those adjacent to the beaches.

Great location; only 7/10th mile South of (Historic) Venice Avenue. 1.9 miles from from Beach. Short walk to Venice Regional Medical Hospital.

Exceptionally quiet after dusk.

Our room was very clean. The staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. Rooms have back door access to very large (lushly landscaped) courtyard and large - crystal clear - pool.

The wonderful "Blu Island Bistro" restaurant is on the premises = wonderful breakfasts. We ate breakfast there 5 mornings. Probably wonderful also for lunch and dinner, but we decided to try other Venice restaurants that were "new" to us.

All rooms have small refrigerator and microwave. Cable TV has over 100 channels. Guest laundry on the premises. One bedroom suites with full kitchen are available.

(941) 488-4417.

Booking online is available at: www.IslandBreezeInn.com

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandbreezeinn, Manager at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the kind words about the changes we have made to the property thus far. We have nearly completed our first full room renovation and we hope to have pictures posted as soon as next week. We appreciate you including our contact information with your review. However, that contact information is actually for our sister location. The contact information for this location as shown at the top of the page is:

Island Sun Inn
(941)484-9559
info@islandsuninn.com

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

When we pulled up, I asked my husband if he wanted to cancel our reservation. The outside is run down and scary looking! Inside smelled good and was charming. No hair dryer, but the pool area was clean and the pool itself was cleaner than some big name hotel chains we've stayed at. It's a cute place inside but for the $70, I'd rather stay at a different hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the office and pool feel "safer" then the ones in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here the second week of April 20th thru 23rd, in room 110, for 3 nights. King size bed, fridge, microwave. We were there looking at homes. People were nice in the office. Pool was nice. Room was roomy, but we would get out of the shower and walking from the bathroom to our bed our feet would be black with dirt! Ewww. The motel is build around the pool, as in a garden style. They do have housekeeping but she never showed up the second day. We didnt say anything. Not sure why..the pool is a nice area, with barbques. The liitle bestro attached in the front of the building was good though. I would not stay here again, just because of the floors. Bathroom was very run down too, but old florida, so we wont complain about that. Just the carpet should be pulled out and maybe tile put in. Price was ok. Would have spent a few extra bucks for clean floors.

Room Tip: Take your slippers! Don't wear white sock either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandbreezeinn, Manager at Island Sun Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We understand that the carpeting needs to be removed and we are currently in the process of renovating the entire property. We took over the hotel in August of last year and renovations have been ongoing since that time. The courtyard area and the bistro were the first things to be done and as you mentioned, those areas are very nice. We are just now completing our first rooms and hope to have those available shortly. We will continue to do everything we can to keep the the rooms up to our standards until the renovations are complete and we hope that you will give us a second chance in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The new owner of the property is doing a great job with an older property. The rooms were confortable, and clean. The young ladies who cleaned the room did an excellent job. The onsite restaurant "Blu" served great breakfasts and lunches! The inner outdoor courtyard was very nice including tables, chairs, and unbrellas to sit in the sun and enjoy the beautiful Florida weather. The pool was great as well. I would recommend staying there if you are looking for a moderate to inexpensive place to stay.

Room Tip: They have several grills in the outdoor courtyard which guest can use. If you are travelling with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This reminded me of the motels we used to stay in back in the 70's. Small one story motel with all rooms opening onto a courtyard and pool area. The rooms were comfortable but did not have phones so be sure to have your cell phones with you. The staff was very helpful and friendly and there was a computer in the lobby that the guests can use. The Blu' Island Bistro is right next to the hotel and offers wonderful food - breakfasts are especially good. As this is an older motel, don't expect rooms to be like a Hyatt or Mariott, but they served our needs well. The motel is about 10 minutes by car from the beaches and even less to downtown (shopping area) Venice .

Room Tip: all rooms open on to the courtyard. The rooms in the rear are probably quieter than those in on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
1.2 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 12 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Venice Resort
Ramada Venice Resort
#5 of 12 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador Suites Venice
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Venice
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Sun Inn

Address: 625 So. Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Island Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Sun Hotel Venice
The Veranda Hotel
Veranda Hotel Venice
Island Sun Inn Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Sun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.