We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza I have had in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Made In Italy

Made In Italy
117 W. Venice Avenue, Venice, FL 34285
+1 941-488-8282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 215 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Come and Enjoy Fresh Authentic Italian Cuisine. We serve- Antipasti- Insalate- Zuppe- Pasta- Entrees, and Wood Oven Pizza. Now proudly serving fresh fruit martinis and specially crafted cocktails in our beautiful martini bar. Peppe and Alessandro are waiting for you!
Venice, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Pizza I have had in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The basis of any good pizza is the crust. They had a great selection of pizza and we had a great time. The service was excellent. They use high quality ingredients on an excellent crust and cook it quickly in a brick oven. This is what makes an otherwise pizza great. Wine is expensive and beer is reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    133
    60
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I know many people come for the pizza and we gave this some thought as mouthwatering pizzas were carried by us while we perused the menu. I had read up on the most highly rated Venice restaurants and this place was #2. There were 4 of us and we were looking a for a great Italian meal out and were famished when we arrived. We ended up getting some pasta dishes, seafood and steak along with bruschetta and calamari to start and it was a true feast. The food was fantastic as was the wine and service. Our small table of four was easily there for over 2.5 hours...we just didn't want the night to end!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you like a broad menu (but not too broad) Italian hospitality and wonderful food, this place is for you. The owners treat you like family, and although it can get busy they really move to serve everyone. We always leave happy and planning to return.

This place is a gem!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Much better than the previous two that were here before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

MADE IN ITALY occupies a site on Venice Ave near Hwy 41. This site was for a long time occupied by a British theme breakfast and lunch restaurant. After that another [forgot the theme] for a short while. Now MADE IN ITALY is offering authentic Italian food, upscale in quality, ambiance, service, but not so much in price. Space is small, 3 rows of tables, but there is outside dining on Venice Blvd. , and does have a back of bldg walled outside dining area which is very "authentic Italian."

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Varied portion sizes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I were disappointed with our visit to Made in Italy. I had carbonara which wasn't bad although a little too salty, my husband had the ravioli which was very tasty. The portion sizes however were not comparable, the ravioli was the size similar to a starter at the most 8 pieces, my carbonara was a little bigger ok for the smaller appetite (just enough for me) the ladies on the next table had far more sizeable portions, difficult when ordering to decide what to have. The very small portion of ravioli made it very overpriced. The tiramisu that my husband had was not set and both the waitress and chef were both very apologetic explaining it had only just been made, even though we had not complained they were obviously aware that it shouldn't have been served and an alternative sweet offered. This was later deducted from our bill which we were very grateful for. Although we were disappointed with the food the service was fantastic and the restaurant was very welcoming. After reading the reviews we have put this down to a one off and if we lived in the area would perhaps give the restaurant another try but would not be our first choice.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Made In Italy also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Made In Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Made In Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.