We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good happy hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valenti's Allegro Bistro

Valenti's Allegro Bistro
1740 E Venice Ave, Villa Venecia Plaza, Venice, FL 34292-3192
941-484-1889
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 210 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Appetizer and adult beverages were both very good. Good service. Understand they have entertainment but could not stay for the music. Will go back for dinner and dancing.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Try it, you'll like it"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

6 of us had dinner here tonight for the 3rd time in the last 2 months. Everything was great. All meals were served Hot and in a timely manner. I purposely asked all our friends how their dinner was, and all said it was wonderful, not just good, but wonderful. Our waitress and bus girls were on top of everything. Prices are reasonable, portions are large, and salads are fresh & crisp. 4 out of 6 of us took a doggy bag as the portions were very generous. You can easily carry a conversation with your friends because the music is not in the dining rm. They do not push you through dinner for another seating, we have stayed for 2 1/2 hrs plus. We have sat outside as well as inside and enjoyed both.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food, great music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Saturday night, live music with Lisa Ridings and Vertigo. Got a group of 30 friends together for dinner and a night of music and dancing.. Food was really good, no complaints from anyone. Service and management were very accommodating. As the night went on they moved dinner tables out of the lounge for more dance space. Everyone in our group had a great time, loved the band so much we booked them for a private affair later in the year..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If you haven't been there GO!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Fun place! We go often and love it. Great food, great people, great entertainment. Check it out soon !

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Disgusting Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We're visiting family members who are staying in Venice for the winter. They booked us reservations at Valenti's because of the jazz night Thursday from 6-9 p.m.

I have no idea why a restaurant without a dance floor would book live music. Tables cover the entire floor and are crammed in so close together that, if you attempt to dance between the tables, crotchety old people growl at you for bumping their wine glasses. And listening to jazz music without being able to dance is just annoying. About five couples tried to enjoy a dance anyway.

The people who frequent this place on Thursday night are all old, white haired souls. Definitely not a hang out for the young at heart. The owner gets up to sing a final song, apparently every week - like nails on a chalk board.

Having discussed entertainment, let's talk food.
We ordered the Ensalata Caprese appetizer. The waiter either forgot to put in our order or forgot to bring it to us. The two couples we dined with ordered pizzas when we ordered our appetizer. They'd both almost finished their entire pizzas before our tomatoes finally arrived - no apology from the waiter though. She mumbled something about being very busy.

The Ensalata Caprese was very disappointing. Tomatoes weren't good quality, not ripe enough, tasteless. Ten tomato slices topped with mozzarella and basil floated in a plate of olive oil. Totally bland, no seasoning, no vinagrette, no flavor - for $9.95

The Chicken Marsala was absolutely awful. You had to hunt for the skinny hunk of what appeared to be chicken breast, drowned in a plate of watery brown stuff that should have been mushroom sauce, but was very bitter, off tasting, with no texture. Mushroom slices piled high looked like they came from a can, and tasted of that same bitter, icky flavor.

At $16.95 the chicken entree came with nothing but a side salad. And apparently because we split the entree instead of each ordering our own, they charged us an unbelievable $19.49 for this disgusting pile of inedible mess, instead of $16.95.

Dessert was a small piece of cold chocolate cake, topped with a scoop of ice cream, for $7.00.

Drinks were a total rip off. They charge $8.95 for a shot of medium quality tequila. A glass of pinot grigio is $7.00. If you get there before six p.m. during Happy Hour, you can get two glasses of wine for the price of one, but you have to take them both at the same time. They won't bring you one now and one when you finish the first. So your white wine gets warm while it sits on the table.

We were charged $65 for three drinks, one appetizer, one entree, and one dessert - an outrageous sum for poor quality food, poorly prepared.

To top it all off, they have ONE bathroom stall for women, so you get to wait as long as it takes, when the place is packed with two hundred golden agers.

The decor is the ONLY thing this restaurant has going for it. Don't eat here. It's a total rip off, and the food is just gross.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valenti's Allegro Bistro also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Valenti's Allegro Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valenti's Allegro Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.