We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger I've had in years.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burgundy Square Cafe

Burgundy Square Cafe
227 Miami Ave W, Venice, FL 34285-2359
941-451-8261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 210 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Lexington, KY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best burger I've had in years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very good burgers and homemade fries at a low price. Great environment, great service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    28
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Food is wonderful, portions are wonderful, menu selection is wonderful, and for me, location is wonderful!! Owner always stops by table to check on things, I'm very impressed and recommend to all!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Native Floridian
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The owner thought it was a good idea to add yellow corn meal to the grits”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

and it all went badly from there.

I do like the mismatched plate/cup theme. I do like they sell local artists on the wall.

But the portions were small - thankfully. The food was in parts inexplicable. My vegetable scramble was amazingly bad.

For a hearty American food diner experience...try Anita's or Bud's. Althea's is across the street...and does have good grits and tasty breakfast options.

I took my mom here and she gave the gent a lecture on how to cook.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“great value, friendly atmoshpere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stumbled in by chance, returned by choice. This place is very friendly, serves up great basic food choices, with enough choices to make everyone happy. The "double burger" was fantastic,my wife thouroughly enjoyed her fish. Reasonably priced and very friendly service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Happiness on a plate !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Best little place for our town .. Very warm and friendly .. My son loves the chicken parm , and chicken burgundy sandwich !!
I live every dish I've had !! We eat about 2 awk here !! And keep coming back for more!! And all the seafood dishes are fab!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgundy Square Cafe also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Burgundy Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burgundy Square Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.