We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irresponsible Dog Owners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brohard Paw Park

Brohard Paw Park
1999 Harbor Dr S Venice, Venice, FL 34285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Attractions in Venice
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
North Port, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Irresponsible Dog Owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I wanted to like this place but too many of the dog owners are irresponsible, their dogs don't obey their commands and the people don't clean up after their pets.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    20
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
troon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“not the animals fault”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

as above. when sitting on the NON animal section of the beach the owners frequently either walk or let their dogs come out of the animal section right along to the NON animal sections. A bit more signage and maybe a ranger.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dog Beach Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We went on Memorial Day weekend with Lucy, our poodle, cocker spaniel mix. She loves the water and we had a great time. It is a fairly short stretch of beach and you cannot go outside the boundaries of the dog beach. Don't bother to bring anything to read because there is so much entertainment just watching all of the dogs.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wish there were more of these types of places!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Fantastic place for dog lovers and their pride and joy. There is a traditional dog park complete with a dog wash station and a walkway to the off leash dog beach. Most of the dog people were very understanding about the dogs being dogs and not quite grasping the concept of other families beach camps not being there's. We had dogs rolling on our towels, seeing what was under our beach umbrella, and drinking from our water bowl but it was all good! About 99 percent of the owners were fantastic but there were a few uptight ones that probably needed to rethink bringing fido to the beach with lots of dogs playing, running and swimming. It was very enjoyable watching dogs having the chance to just be dogs and meeting other "dog people" who were relaxed about their pets having fun. We can't wait to come back!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eval”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very nice opportunity to see dogs, but much excretement along the trail down to beach with punget aroma & unsanitary conditions

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brohard Paw Park also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Brohard Paw Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brohard Paw Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.