We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Grove

The Olive Grove
222 Tampa Avenue West, Venice Centre Mall, Venice, FL 34285
+1 941-375-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 210 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Bistro, Wine Bar
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Private Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had met Sylvia and Mitch and read the reviews so we expected a fine meal and nice evening. We were not disappointed. Our dinner group was small and the setting was comfortable and friendly. It was like we were in a home rather than a public place. We were welcomed by Mitch and Sylvia and served our first glass of excellent wine while tasting a variety of olive oils. A delicious meal followed with all sorts of surprises that were above the discussed menu. The house wine is terrific too. The evening was fun and relaxed. We weren't hurried and everyone left feeling very satisfied and pampered. We got thank you messages from our guests and they all said that they had a wonderful time. Service and food were excellent and healthy. We all plan to return. These yummy oils are going North !! This is not your ordinary restaurant experience, If you want a nice meal that is served in a unique setting using healthy oils, and vinegars this is the place for you,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

For a top class meal in Venice, this is an excellent choice, the food is superb. We went in for my wife's birthday celebration and the food was delightful, and fit for any special occasion.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish we lived closer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Olive Grove is not your typical restaurant. Intimately small, the menu changes frequently. Sylvia and Mitch will tell you about the sources of the fresh and creative food you're eating. As well as meals, the owners sell many different varieties of gourmet oils, vinegars and salts. We picked up some white truffle oil, and some fantastic roasted garlic oil.

Sylvia remembered our brief visit from two years previous (2010!), and immediately sat us down with two glasses of excellent wine. She was in the middle of preparing a catered dinner, but stopped to chat and give us samples of home-cured olives from her very own tree. Simply a great experience, and I am already looking forward to the next time we can drop by!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We felt like cherished guests in the home of Sylvia, Mitch and Lexi. We learned about olive oil...and will never buy olive oil again without researching it's true orgins. But, since they are close by, I will likely just go to the Olive Grove of Venice and re-fill my olive oil bottle. At the company christmas celebration, we experienced true extra virgin olive oil, tasted fine wine and delectable food cooked fresh for us while we watched, and then had the lovely Lexi entertain us with her guitar and song. That night's celebration will be remembered for a very long time!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Discover The Olive Grove and get an education”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

While not a traditional restaurant with regular hours, The Olive Grove offers lunch by reservations, as well as dinner parties. Sylvia and Mitch Grove are experts in the varieties of premium olive oils and vinegars imported from different countries, and it shows in the meals Sylvia prepares. Whether it's a homemade quesadilla with Monterey Jack cheese and steak with a side salad and perfect olives, or her polenta with marinara sauce, it will be very good. They have a unique selection of imported wines from small wineries which go perfectly with the food. Last, but not least, the Grove is a quiet, off the track place to meet with friends for a late afternoon glass of wine or beer. It's been a favorite of mine for the 3 years they've been there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Grove also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.