We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Seafood Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bit Of Boston

A Bit Of Boston
1939 Tamiami Tr. S., Venice, FL 34293
+1 941-496-4587
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 210 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Love Authentic New England seafood. Then A Bit of Boston is the place to be. Come on in and see why customers travel all the way from Ft Myers just to have a bowl of our New England Clam Chowder. Real "Maine: Lobster rolls, Large Premium "Sea" Scallops, Crab Cakes made with mix we have shipped in from "Rhode Island". Even our Hot dogs are served on a fresh New England style roll. Have a craving for Whole Belly Clams, oh yes, they are from "Ipswich". We believe in fresh authentic food. Over the years we have had requests for other regional foods. So we have added a few like our Philly Cheese-steak. Anyone that knows anything about a real Philly Cheese-steak knows it must be served on an Amoroso roll. That's right we have Fresh Amoroso Bakery rolls shipped in. Last but not least we serve a good old NY style Fish Fry....Stop by ..Give us a try..We promise..You will be a regular...
Coppell, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple Seafood Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Simply and perfectly prepared fresh seafood. I had the Cod sandwich and my wife had the clams. I started with the lobster bisque and she had a garden salad. Everything arrived on time and to our liking. The waitress was informative and experienced. It's located in a little strip mall almost hidden on Tamiami...well isn't everything in Venice on Tamami. If you miss it, go back it is worth it if you like seafood. No pomp here, just great seafood Boston style. Next time I will definitly go for the Chowda!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great New England Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Anyone from New England would appreciate the Ipswich whole belly clams. They are fresh and superb. The atmosphere is great with the New England Flair. This are the best clams around.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheesesteak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

They make the best cheesesteak in Venice. The bread is fresh and they chop up all the steak and cheese together and put in on the roll over flowing with meat. I have mine with onions and mayo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New England in Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I go to A Bit of Boston mainly for the fried clams and "chowdah." Both are true to their origins. The small amount of fine sand that is an inherent characteristic of Ipswich clams might turn some folks off, but that is their signature. The coating is just right, adding crunch but little else to take away from the clam flavor. As a former commercial "digger" (clam harvester), I can attest to their simple authenticity.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best chowder and whole belly clams in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Been going there for years now. Love the fried clams, not to big and not to small. Perfect! Prices are better than up in New England The clam chowder is the best in all of Florida It is tucked in a stripe mall but so worth finding it. Staff is very pleasant and the owner Gigi is very nice. Restaurant is very clean, not fancy but clean. That goes a long way with me.
A MUST when your near Vencie, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Bit Of Boston also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to A Bit Of Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bit Of Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.