We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Thai in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill

The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill
4145 S. Tamiiami Trail, Venice, FL 34293
941-493-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 215 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best Thai in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Best priced & delicious in South Venice. Always excellent service & great friendly bar if one desires a drink.American or Thai it's a consistant GO TO when we're in South Venice. Plates are garnished w fresh orchid.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    45
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had dinner here a couple of months ago while renting in Venice. What a surprise...a sports bar that offered Thai food!! It was delicious, a shared veggie pad thai along with spring rolls. We used chopsticks, as Asian food doesn't taste right when eaten with a fork, and got many curious looks from the diners around us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent sports bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the sports bar and excellent beer selections. The food was diverse with emphasis on Thai food, which was well-prepared and tasty. .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We hit this place a couple of times to make sure it was consistently good - and it is. Many sports bars are too crowded, too noisy and, frankly, a bit dumpy. The Sand Tap is just the opposite; it is nicely appointed, with enough tables and comfy booths and is convivial but not boisterous. The food is well above average for pub grub. For example - my burger was served on a very fresh (homemade?) roll, the buffalo chicken wrap was served w/ a nice sweet chilli sauce on the side. And now the surprise: the ST has a nice and varied Thai menu: fresh soups, chicken, beef, shrimp and veggie dishes in all gradations of hotness. What a pleasant and unexpected find.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The two menus tell you what a strange combo this place is. This is an American sports bar complete with burgers, fries, reubans, wings, etc. and a Thai restaurant all crammed around a large u-shaoed bar. Very very busy place. Reservations are not accepted for small parties so you have to wait or eat at the bar. We opted for the latter with firm direction from the owner. I didnt feel that we had a choice! The bartender, Jan, was very entertaining and pleasant. They have neat little clip on trays to facilitate eating at the bar itself. We were served drinks immediately and our food order was taken. We waited a very long time for the food to arrive. Others at the bar were seated after us and done before we got our food. The salad rolls were large and very fresh. The dipping sauce was basically a sweet and sour sauce with a few crushed peanuts on top. We were still eating the appetizer when the dinners came. The pepper steak was good; the garlic lovers with seafood was good; the volcano chicken was very attractive but disappointing. The chicken was very tender and tasty, as were the vegetables. But there was way too much sauce. Everything but the rice was saturated in what was basically sweet Thai chili sauce (that you can buy at the grocery store). Presentation of the meal is the best past of the food. Dinner was okay but if you want real Thai food, I think one can do better.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sand Trap Sports Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.