We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the bread knots but knot the service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Fountain of Venice

Soda Fountain of Venice
349 West Venice Ave, Venice, FL 34285
+1 941-488-7600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Like stepping back in time. An authentic old fashioned soda fountain serving a wide variety of sundaes, ice cream sodas and malts. Also serving New York style thin crust hand-tossed pizza as well as delicious sandwiches and salads. There's something for everyone at The Soda Fountain.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love the bread knots but knot the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were seated fairly quickly, but waitress did not return for ten minutes. When she took order she did not bring waters for another 15 minutes and longer for food drinks- needed to call her back for plates. Charge card out on end of table; she avoided eye contact walking by serving other tables.
Food - we have been here several times before solely for garlic bread knots. Also ordered cheese pizza n milkshakes given that they are a soda fountain.... They were out of malt and also marshmallow for their menu drinks.... Not great planning.

Well I highly recommend bread knots and a drop in on a beach day in Venice despite service today.

I need to get better taking pix prior to eating food but those bread knots are so delicious!!!! Reasonably priced food.

Did I mention my daughter is in Venice Italy for a school trip? We are in Venice too today ( Florida) Hahaha

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    63
    19
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

As a local and someone who used to love going to the Soda Fountain for lunch and/or ice cream, I am sad to find how poor the service has become. Just today, I went there for lunch with two local friends that had not been there before. We were 3 adults and 5 children, just out of preschool and hungry for lunch. It was not busy by any means, yet it took awhile for anyone to seat us, so we just moved tables together and sat ourselves. Our drink orders were taken fairly quick, but then it took a long time for the waitress to come back and take our lunch orders. There were only 2 separate lunches ordered and 2 pizzas. Food service was average for what we ordered, but unless we called the waitress down, she didn't check in with us for drink refills or anything else. It took forever for her to come back to us (by me flagging her down), which by then we just wanted the checks rather than order ice cream like we had originally planned. Not sure if I want to go back, especially with kids in tow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Loved the old fashioned feel and many choices for sweet treats. The malts are great too. Good luck making up your mind!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quaint little ice cream parlor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Quaint little ice cream parlor! Support the local dealers. Great ice cream floats!!!!
Check out the Vinnie's pizza next door!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stopped in for a quick dessert and ordered a single and double dip in plain cones and were stunned to be charged over $9 for it...I guess we should have checked menu prices first.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Fountain of Venice also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Soda Fountain of Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Fountain of Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.