We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem in Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robbi's Reef

Robbi's Reef
775 US 41 By-Pass S, Venice, FL 34285
+1 941-485-9196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 210 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Little Gem in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This restaurant, which sits in a Venice strip mall on Tamiami Trl, is a small local favorite. The space is cozy and decorated with a busy nautical theme and the fish is fresh and is really excellent. The fish and chips meal is enormous but best of all it is light and crispy. Another favorite is the fish tacos. We have always had a great meal and the price is reasonable too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    95
    28
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Grove, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great food! Great service! Limited selection of food but done perfectly! We will definitely return in the future. I had the scallops and swordfish and it melted in my mouth! Even the salad was great!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must go frequently type of place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The best fish tacos around. The atmosphere is friendly and always busy. You couldn't ask for better or fresher food especially the fish and seafood

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My last review of Robbi's Reef was in January of 2012. I gave it a rave review then and I have to give them a rave PLUS this time. We love fish! We live in Venice 10 months of the year and we chow down here every Tuesday night when we are in town..We spend two months in Maine during the summer and, frankly, Robbi's is better than 95% of the fish houses there. If you are looking for a steakhouse or a vegetarian meal go elsewhere!. My family has been in the fish business (boats and processing) in Gloucester, MA. since before the Civil War. I KNOW FISH! And it just doesn't get any better than Robbi's Reef...There are several grades of fish that restaurants buy. Most chains like Bonefish and Red Lobster buy B Grade because A Grade is so expensive and hard to come by. All of the fish at Robbi's is A Grade. If is is not available they just don't serve it!..Order anything on the menu or the daily specials YOU CAN'T GO WRONG!...THREE GARDNER STARS!...PS: Come late (after eight) or be prepared to wait. That speaks for itself!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eclectic decor; good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This place is a hole in the wall in a strip mall on the Venice 41 Bypass. You'll drive by if you don't know its there. It has one modest-sized dining room, about 22 4-tops, w/ a couple of 2s, plus a bar with 10? stools. Mostly 8x10 fishing photos all over the walls. The "reef" theme is carried out in the paint on the walls, an aquarium, and ceiling hangings - glass balls w/ nets, stained glass (?) pics of fish, etc. The look is eclectic, and fun. A modest 2 page menu, 1 page for apps, sandwiches, salads and misc, and 1 for entrees, and sides. all very reasonably priced. They usually have at least one "special", not on the menu (we had a choice of 3). Service is excellent. Food is an excellent value and very tasty. Wine is red or white...lol. This is not a fancy restaurant. But you will get a very good meal. They do not take reservations. In season there will be a line, but it usually goes pretty fast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robbi's Reef also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Robbi's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robbi's Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.