We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robbi's Reef

Robbi's Reef
775 US 41 By-Pass S, Venice, FL 34285
+1 941-485-9196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 210 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Park City Ut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place was recommended to us by Tekla from The Beachcomber. She said it was a locals place with great food and she was telling the truth! We had the gumbo – simply great, the fish bites - scrumptious, fish tacos – best we’ve ever had, fish and chips – delightful! The place can get loud. We sat near the entrance and it was quieter. The waitress was attentive and friendly. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    95
    28
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Intimate Dining with good seafood and great seafood gumbo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Robbi's Reef is a little restaurant with good seafood. The seafood gumbo is outstanding. Robbi, herself, is always working and making sure that you have an outstanding dining experience. Despite the small size of the restaurant, the atmosphere is very pleasant. Service is terrific and the quality, quantity and price of dining are all very good. I go to Robbi's weekly and order a large bowl of seafood gumbo to go. I highly recommend Robbi's. In season there is always a waiting line; however, the speedy service creates a reasonable turnover. They have a great aquarium and the star of the show is the hermit crab who is constantly on the move in the tank. Robbi's is centrally located in the Gulf Shore Plaza on the north bound rte. 41 Bypass. Check it out. John

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've been here numerous times. Food & staff are great!!! Even with a large group that still does not slow down the service. Must have: Key Lime Pie!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A definite stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed lunch at Robbi's Reef yesterday; it's a neighborhood type place in a strip mall. Don't let the exterior hold you back, though. Go on in and try their very good choice of salads, sandwiches and burgers. Service was terrific as well by our smiling, gracious server. I'll definitely go back to try the dinner entrees.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish Taco's!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We use Trip Advisor a lot to seek out a variety of foods while traveling and this past trip to South Florida was no exception. Enter Robbi's Reef- a small, local eatery located in one of the many non-descript strip plazas.
My daughter had chicken tenders that were actual chicken breast strips, not some pre-shaped meat product- very good, tender and juicy! My son had the fried Calmari as he is quite the fan. The calmari was nicely breaded and tasty- served with marinara.
Now, the reason for our visit: the reviews of the fish tacos. We have eaten fish tacos in New York, San Diego, CT, RI and Florida and I must say, these were outstanding. The two taco plates were loaded and include a side of yellow rice and black beans. The fish was fresh, cut into chunks and blackened- adding a lot of flavor. The only change I would make is to serve them with a wedge of lime, which I found really adds a nice kick! Great job to Robbi's and I'm glad we found it. We will be back for more!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robbi's Reef also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Robbi's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robbi's Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.