We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo's Italian Market

Angelo's Italian Market
850 Pinebrook Rd, Venice, FL
(941) 484-6864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 210 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
new jersey
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

they have real italian specialties, anything you can think of including great bread, they also have a restaurant which we will go next time we come to town, i think this the only italian specialty store in the venice area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
anywhere for a good meal
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Attention diners..this is Angelo..let me sell you something over this loudspeaker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Yikes...what an unusual place. First of all...it's an italian restaurant set inside an italian market and deli...that's fine. Secondly, the menu looks pretty much like every other italian restaurant you'd find..almost anywhere. The food...was very good actually, and plenty of it. They certainly believe you should not leave hungry..and we didn't. Wine choices are limited...you can order a bottle if you wish. After learning that the only super Tuscan in stock was $54 a bottle..we opted for a bottle of chianti (which was made about a week and a half ago) and cost $9.99. Not the best as you'd imagine. Prices are reasonable and the entertainment is free. That's when Angelo himself, hiding behind the meat display case, let's go with a booming voice over a distorted public address system to tell you, that you can make reservations for Mother's day before you leave. Good thing I had cleared my mouth of my Veal Pizzaiola before he bellowed...I could have choked to death. So...I'd sum this up as...good Italian American food (definitely not authentic from the old country) in a fun setting. Go there...mangia!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Terrific deli sandwiches!

In the deli I felt as though I was back at Claudio's, in South Philadelphia's "Little Italy" Italian Market.

I'll certainly go back!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011 via mobile

An unusual setting with the dining area next to the grocery aisles, but the food makes it work.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian food, wonderful staff, terrific music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

If you are lucky enough to be at Angelo's on a night when Sam Domicolo is the entertainer, youywill be delighted at how his music enhances the great Italian cuisine. The place feels like an old family ristorante in Italia, complete with a superb strolling musician.
The food is great, and you can take home true Italian deli treats

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo's Italian Market also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Angelo's Italian Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo's Italian Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.