We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Back Eddy Bistro

Back Eddy Bistro
239 W Miami Ave, Venice, FL 34285-2302
941-244-2643
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 210 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice menu but only fair execution. Service was sincere but lacking. Our waitress was pleasant but seemed harried even though there were only two tables occupied on the night we were there (off season).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    32
    17
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Any negative reviews of service had to catch these folk on a bad day, provoke or want something free.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We started our day stopping in because of a hard rain. The owners
Were charming. The rain carried on for some time - dinner was evident. Not a lot
Of real chefs in Venice , here you will find one! Excellent dining experience

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Fun Place to Meet in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I am a local and just love Back Eddy Bistro. The food is not only eclectic, it is made from scratch, so fresh, and consistantly delicious! You cannot eat at the bar without hearing patrons raving about the food. Ally and Ed make it a fun place to meet friends- they're always offering a smile and a sample of Ed's latest creations. He was a private chef for many famous people and we are so lucky to have him here in Venice. I just can't say enough about this place! We bring all of our friends here who visit from out of town. Never have we been let down! Thanks Ally and Ed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Dinner for four during the off season was delightful. This restaurant has two rooms, a cozy bar and a more formal dinning room. We opted for the dinning room and were comfortably seated. The menu has a wide variety of choices including some unique starters and very well thought out main dishes. All of the veggies are fresh and prepared with care and are included with the dinner. For starters we had conch fritters ( home made and great), fried polenta with cheese and tomatoes, calamari and figs with Italian ham. All were we'll prepared and large portions. Next time we would get only two or three and share. The main dishes were equally well prepared with generous portions. We had terrific, fresh fish, a steak, duck breast and chicken. All was cooked to perfection. The wine list was very good and reasonably priced. We had no room for dessert. We would highly recommend this restaurant. Prices were reasonable, especially considering the portion size and quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIlton Ny
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had the best meal of our vacation here. We brought our 1 yr old daughter so we thought it was polite to go early when the restaurant wasn't packed. They were very welcoming and accomodating to us. The menu was so exciting!
My husband had the crab cake appetizer and he said it was the best he ever had. I loved my entree so much I almost licked the plate. It was the pistachio crusted duck breast!
Our server, Gina, was fabulous! She was very attentive to our needs and was honest with her recommendations which we always appreciate.
The atmosphere is so warm and cozy and everyone was so friendly, we felt like we were home. Next time we are in Venice we will certainly go back to the Back Eddy.
We overheard some of the other patrons oooing and aahing too which told us that we weren't alone in our glory! definitly worth your time and money!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Eddy Bistro also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Back Eddy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Eddy Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.