We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shark teeth abound with a little effort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caspersen Beach

Caspersen Beach
end of Harbor Dr, Englewood, Venice, FL 34285
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Venice
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Shark teeth abound with a little effort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I read about this beach on trip advisors and put it on our "stay-cation" list. We LOVED it!! It was only $3 to park, had very nice restrooms, showers near the parking area, and we found around 20 shark teeth in about 2 hours. We took a child's sifter and sifted the sand, in and out of the water. We found many teeth right above our blanket in a row of shells. We did not have to climb on rocks or walk forever... we parked, set up our spot, and opened our eyes. I would suggest this beach. One word of caution the water gets deep very quickly. You may want a life jacket out float if dome type for a child.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    203
    52
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Watch out for the perverts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Walking along on the beach with my wife, a pervert passed us by with his butt hanging out of his shorts ! Then another passed by aged about 70 with a blue mankini on ! ffs !!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Found a shark tooth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went right after a storm so the area was a bit messy. We didn't go to swim but rather to find shark teeth. We found a really nice one! The hotel staff recommended this beach as she said that she personally finds a lot of great shark teeth there. There are a ton of large rocks on the beach area so probably not the best place to swim but ideal for finding the shark teeth.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Looking for Shark's Teeth?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is where you'll find lots of them with just a little bit of concentration and patience. Our son has a collection numbering well over 100, gathered just during 6 or 7 jaunts to the beach for a late-morning or afternoon of fun. Surf fishing is fun in a few, obvious, segments of the beach. Great place for family and fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Even in a light rain, this beach is BEAUTIFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This beach reminds us of Martha's Vineyard's beauty. Although cloud cover forestalled a sunset this trip, even walking the beach in the on-again/off-again misty rain was a treat. Shells abound and the picture perfect photo ops are endless. Handicap accessible walkways and restrooms, benches and easy parking plus a bike/walking trail. It's an amazing beach, don't miss it!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caspersen Beach also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Caspersen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caspersen Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.