We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
519 South Harbor Drive, Venice, FL 34285   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Venice B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“June 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

From the moment we pulled up to the Banyan House, we knew we were in for a special treat. Susan and Chuck do everything within their power to make you feel welcome and at home. We had the pleasure of staying in the Treehouse room which was beautifully decorated not to mention the special touches like the fresh flowers in the room with a balloon wishing us a happy anniversary and a note in the fridge welcoming us to the Banyan House along with wine to celebrate our special occasion. The atmosphere of every room is warm and welcoming…you will want to sit in every chair to enjoy the many views. Don’t miss the opportunity to scan the scrapbook in the dining area to learn about the history of the Banyan House. Susan and Chuck are up early to prepare coffee for their guest along with a wonderful breakfast consisting of specialty items demanding a photo before hitting the taste buds. The Treehouse room includes sliding doors off the sitting area onto a deck with a view of the pool, beautiful Banyon tree and courtyard. The only disappointment is that we couldn’t stay longer to enjoy getting to know more about Susan and Chuck, sit and meditate on the swing, lay in the hammock and enjoy the view of the glorious sky though the leaves of the Banyan tree, experience additional delicious breakfasts prepared by Susan and Chuck, play another game of pool, socialize with the other guests, watch an additional sunset at the beach and explore Venice further. This B&B is top notch, don’t miss staying here if you are in Venice or anywhere near by.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed here at this beautiful house for one night and was so pleased with how clean and well maintained the home was. The owners were very pleasant and have done some lovely restoration and added unique features to their house that translates into a very unique experience for the people staying there. Enjoyed breakfast in the sunny dining area overlooking the huge banyan tree. Very nice landscaping and great little places to sit outside and relax. Although I didn't venture to the shops in the area, they are only a short walking distance as well as the beach. Would certainly stay here again and very grateful to have found them!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We can't say enough about this fabulous place and about the owners Susan and Chuck. Perfect in every way; accommodations, cleanliness and gourmet breakfast to name a few. Many personal touches at the “Mansion” made it an exceptional memorable stay. The property is a short walk or bike ride to the beach, restaurants, pubs, shops and bike trail. When you stay at the Banyan House, you feel like you are staying at your home away from home. Highly recommend this gorgeous historic B & B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Kentucky
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here at Banyan House for one night recently. I think it was the best option in Venice. This old home is full of character and very well maintained. It is clean and attractive. It makes you feel like you are staying in someone's home for sure. The owners live next door. Speaking of the owners, one would be hard pressed to find a nicer couple. They really work at making this a place anyone would want to visit. We stayed upstairs in a king room overlooking the banyan tree and pool (which looks like 1950's retro). It was very comfortable and quiet. The flowers, trees, and landscaping here are awesome. The owners just completed a running waterfall and pond in their backyard. It is a marvel to see. Chuck, (the owner) must be one clever fella, and seems to be able to do anything. If you are staying in the area I recommend you try this B & B.
The one weakness we found was the breakfast was not really to our liking. A Monte Cristo breakfast sandwich was served and we prefer the more traditional egg etc. fare.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The entire experience was a 10!!! Susan & Chuck are such wonderful hosts, so warm & accommodating. The home is beautiful & spotless. The lush, tropical landscaping and pool/patio area is so inviting & relaxing. Breakfast was fabulous! Our only regret is that we had to leave too soon. We stayed in the Palm room. It was wonderful! Susan goes above & beyond with special little touches. We used the bikes they provided to explore the island & beaches. We can't wait to come back with friends and share this piece of "heaven on earth" with them. Thank you Susan & Chuck for sharing it with us. Feeling blessed. . We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: The Tree house & Palm rooms overlook banyan/pool patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We've stayed at the Banyan House SEVERAL times and are still in awe of our experience each time. Chuck and Susan are the most welcoming, warm people and are perfectly suited to manage a bed and breakfast. The facility and grounds are impeccable and an island paradise for sure! There's lots to see in the surrounding area, but staying "home" for a day or two and relaxing by the pool or enjoying the company of other guests is wonderful as well. The superb breakfasts are beautiful and very filling....a late lunch/early dinner is all we need for the rest of the day.

We would highly recommend The Banyan House to anyone looking to treat themselves for a weekend or for a few weeks. You'll be spoiled no matter how long you stay!

Room Tip: We've stayed in all the rooms and there isn't one we would hesitate to stay in again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

For the past seven years my friend and I have spent a week at the Banyan House. Each time we arrive I walk in and say to Chuck or Susan (the owners), "honey, I'm home"!!!!! And that's exactly what it is....a home away from home! The Banyan House and the entire property is pristine....the pool, exercise building, courtyard, grounds (including a magnificent banyan tree)apartments and main building (where we stay) are beautifully maintained and a sight for sore winter eyes! Susan is a delight and gives 110% to provide a delicious and creative breakfast every morning and to make sure that every request and need of every guest is honored. Chuck is a sweetheart and has worked tirelessly to maintain and add beauty and functionality to the premises. They are both genuine and caring people; and we look forward each year to see them and to share their exceptionally lovely "home away from home" with them.

The Banyan House is within walking distance of quaint Venice and about one mile from the great beaches.

A guaranteed idyllic experience!!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main house with efficiency kitchens, balconies, separate entrances....all bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast

Address: 519 South Harbor Drive, Venice, FL 34285
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Banyan House Historic b&b
Banyan House Historic Hotel Venice
Banyan House Historic Bed And Breakfast Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.