We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Venice gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
519 South Harbor Drive, Venice, FL 34285   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Venice B&B and Inns
Stuart, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Venice gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The entire experience was a 10!!! Susan & Chuck are such wonderful hosts, so warm & accommodating. The home is beautiful & spotless. The lush, tropical landscaping and pool/patio area is so inviting & relaxing. Breakfast was fabulous! Our only regret is that we had to leave too soon. We stayed in the Palm room. It was wonderful! Susan goes above & beyond with special little touches. We used the bikes they provided to explore the island & beaches. We can't wait to come back with friends and share this piece of "heaven on earth" with them. Thank you Susan & Chuck for sharing it with us. Feeling blessed. . We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: The Tree house & Palm rooms overlook banyan/pool patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We've stayed at the Banyan House SEVERAL times and are still in awe of our experience each time. Chuck and Susan are the most welcoming, warm people and are perfectly suited to manage a bed and breakfast. The facility and grounds are impeccable and an island paradise for sure! There's lots to see in the surrounding area, but staying "home" for a day or two and relaxing by the pool or enjoying the company of other guests is wonderful as well. The superb breakfasts are beautiful and very filling....a late lunch/early dinner is all we need for the rest of the day.

We would highly recommend The Banyan House to anyone looking to treat themselves for a weekend or for a few weeks. You'll be spoiled no matter how long you stay!

Room Tip: We've stayed in all the rooms and there isn't one we would hesitate to stay in again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

For the past seven years my friend and I have spent a week at the Banyan House. Each time we arrive I walk in and say to Chuck or Susan (the owners), "honey, I'm home"!!!!! And that's exactly what it is....a home away from home! The Banyan House and the entire property is pristine....the pool, exercise building, courtyard, grounds (including a magnificent banyan tree)apartments and main building (where we stay) are beautifully maintained and a sight for sore winter eyes! Susan is a delight and gives 110% to provide a delicious and creative breakfast every morning and to make sure that every request and need of every guest is honored. Chuck is a sweetheart and has worked tirelessly to maintain and add beauty and functionality to the premises. They are both genuine and caring people; and we look forward each year to see them and to share their exceptionally lovely "home away from home" with them.

The Banyan House is within walking distance of quaint Venice and about one mile from the great beaches.

A guaranteed idyllic experience!!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main house with efficiency kitchens, balconies, separate entrances....all bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My friend Elaine and I have had the priviledge of staying with Chuck and Susan for 7 winters.
They are the most gracious people to be with.(which is why we keep returning They have been our family away from home.
The Banyan House is an exceptionally beautiful, well kept , immaculate facility.
Susan is a gourmet cook and her breakfasts are beyond anything I have eaten.
She goes out of her way to make each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable.
We are so looking forward to time #8 in 2015.
JudyB

Room Tip: Each room has its on special flavor. You cannot go wrong with any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Spend two weeks in January 2014 at Banyan House. The hostess is one of the most accommodating people I have ever met. Breakfast each day is creative, lovely to look at, delicious and nutritious.
Our two room suite with balcony was clean and very comfortable. The owners made us feel welcome and provided us with a wealth of information about the area.
If in Venice this is the place to stay. A short walk to town or the beach and wonderful helpful people who make you feel at home. Who could ask for more?

Room Tip: Look at the pictures and read the descriptions they are very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our stay at Banyan House was a bad experience. We have flown long distance and were surprised to live on a construction site causing dust and noise. No previous message about that. The innkeepers are presently modernizing their own home and garden which is next door. And this seems to be all that matters to them. The innkeepers recommended to leave during the day or to wear earplugs. No excuse, no interest in tourist's needs. The apartment was not clean, refrigerator and toilet not properly working. There is no maintenance of the interior fitting, which is obsolete and has no bearing on "historic". We did not feel welcome at all. Venice is lovely and offers a lot of beautiful accomodation - but we can no longer recommend Banyan House.

Room Tip: Keep off the Banyan House
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banyanhouse, Owner at Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
This guest has stayed with us multiple times over the past 19 years. We were very
disappointed to read her comments. If she had brought any of these items to our
attention we would have gladly corrected them. She was not staying in our B & B
but in one of our monthly apartments which does not include daily housekeeping.
We are very sorry she was unhappy on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Banyan House during our November trip to Florida. We have stayed there multiple times since my brother-in-law discovered it back in 2000, and it continues to be one of our favorite places! In fact, on three different visits over the last four years, we took a nephew and two nieces with us as their high school graduation gifts, and they loved it as well. We always stay in the Sundeck room and have our visitors stay in the Laurel room right across the hall. And Venice is such a great location - we take side trips to Sarasota, Naples, Tampa and other Florida locations from our home base at the Banyan House.

Susan and Chuck McCormick are very hospitable hosts who make us feel right at home. Susan's breakfasts are delicious - fresh squeezed juice, a fruit course and a main course. My husband has taken pictures of many of the breakfasts; Susan put them in an album, and she told us that many guests look through the pictures and pick the ones they want her to make during their visit!

I highly recommend the Banyan House. We look forward to our next visit in June!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast

Address: 519 South Harbor Drive, Venice, FL 34285
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Banyan House Historic b&b
Banyan House Historic Hotel Venice
Banyan House Historic Bed And Breakfast Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.