We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable place. Convenient to beach and downtown.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
519 South Harbor Drive, Venice, FL 34285   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Venice B&B and Inns
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable place. Convenient to beach and downtown.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here. Chuck and Susan were very pleasant and breakfast was tasty every day. We liked our room (The Palm) because it had a little kitchenette and a nifty little deck that looked out at the banyan tree and the pool area. By the way, the patio area was really nice and we liked the little pool and the exercise room as well. I also liked that they had bikes that we could use to ride the few blocks over to the downtown area or even to the beach if we wanted. Our hosts had an ice machine and equipment such as coolers and "sand digging tools" that we used at the beach. We would stay here again if we made it back to this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Banyan House made my first vacation to Venice, FL simply delightful. Very clean, quiet, and beautifully decorated. Breakfast varied from hot pancakes to frittata with fruit, granola and yogurt parfait starting the meal. The House Innkeepers keep the grounds beautifully maintained and always were around to assist with finding certain locations in the area. My flight was quite late but the innkeepers accomodated my arrival. Daily newspaper, bicycles, and beach chairs with umbrellas made available for guests without extra cost. Huge living room (sun room) with full sink, dishes, microwave, coffee pot with coffee/tea and creamer, popcorn and 2 small bottles of chilled wine in the refrigerator for the guests. Walking distance to the Venice "main shopping district" including many wonderful consignment shops. I love the Banyan tree next to my room and the mansion's history. I've never stayed in such a lovely home like this B & B. Worth every penny I spent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a beautifully restored mansion built in 1923. It reminds me of the historic Southern California stucco and red tile roof buildings in San Diego and L.A. We stayed in The Laurel Room, perfectly and decorated, in detail to that era, in blue and yellow flowered accents. White bathrobes, plush fluffy towels, cold bottled water and wine in the small refrig, lots of paperbacks and lamps for reading. Outside a heated pool, hot-tub, swing for two, hammock under the Banyan Tree, exercise and recreation building were all restored to perfection. Susan and Chuck who bought and restored this property themselves are just delightful! The breakfast room is wonderfully bright and cheerful with beautiful stained glass windows and panels that were hand-made by Chuck. They were very accommodating as we had an early morning memorial service to attend. Susan had coffee, fruit salad and home baked bread for us before we left as breakfast is usually served at 9:00.
Barb and Joe from Naples, FL

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota County, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in the the Treetops Room, which is a delightful bedroom with attached sunroom and outdoor deck. The room had everything you needed, including a small kitchen sink area with microwave and coffee pot. The grounds are beautifully maintained. You can swim, play billards, workout or just soak in the relaxing hot tub. Unfortunately, we had to leave before breakfast was served, but I'm sure it was top quality. The innkeeper Susan, is very thoughtful and attentive. Hope to stay at this bed and breakfast again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We only spent one night in the Banyan but we would love to return. Susan is a great and helpful host. Our room was clean, cozy and big, with a seperate living room. The ground of the house is wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

When you arrive for the third time, the note next to the wine in the mini-fridge no longer says "enjoy your stay", it says "welcome home!" Always clean and cozy, Chuck and Susan give warm cheerful hugs, always interesting and diverse conversation at breakfast, and always interesting breakfasts. Yes, the wi-fi and cell service are spotty, the hot water takes forever to come upstairs to the shower, the pool is lovely, but what better place to be when the rain is pouring down than in the lounge of the Treehouse Room. The location is close to everything - walkable if the weather permits to get to the main drag and restaurants, and plenty of parking space in town if you drive. A really worthwhile place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights and 4 days at the Banyan House. The house and grounds are very special and that alone make the stay worth it......But the hospitality of Susan and Chuck are such an added bonus. Location is very nice as well. You can't go wrong with a stay at the Banyan House!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Palm" We had a lovely roof patio surrounded by the "son of Edison&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast

Address: 519 South Harbor Drive, Venice, FL 34285
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Banyan House Historic b&b
Banyan House Historic Hotel Venice
Banyan House Historic Bed And Breakfast Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.