We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A TREAT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast
519 South Harbor Drive, Venice, FL 34285   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Venice B&B and Inns
Yulee, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“WHAT A TREAT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was our first stay here, but won't be our last! My wife and I stayed here 3 nights and the accomodations were excellent (clean, roomy and comfortable). The host and hostess (Chuck and Susan) are extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were outstanding! We made friends at breakfast and the location is perfect to town, beach, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palm Room and the bath might be a high step for a handicap person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

With all these good reviews, you hardly need another in order to make a decision of where to stay in Venice. Chuck and Susan are delightful hosts, offering all the special touches and remembrances. The grounds of the Banyan House are wonderful, complete with a private hot tub and the first swimming pool in Venice. We're told Thomas Edison stayed here. We had the room overlooking the street, with a little private porch and its own back entrance. Breakfasts are homemade and each different during our stay. Susan and Chuck offer warm hospitality, with local history, recommendations, and genuine kindness. During our stay, we met people from Germany, England and New York. They offer free use of bikes. It's one of those "no problem" kind of places, in every respect. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Banyan House was indeed the best vacation spot we have ever experienced. We have been going back for seven years now and have always had a wonderful time there. There is always something to do...including the pool, hot tub, exercise room and the room where we played pool most evenings. The owners, Susan and Chuck couldn't be more accommodating and do everything possible to insure an enjoyable stay. It is a wonderful get away from the cold New Jersey winters.

Room Tip: All rooms are great...as are the breakfasts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Highly recommend the Banyan House! The Inn is beautiful, Susan and Chuck are great hosts, the grounds are spectacular and there is not a nicer place on the island! We will return.

Room Tip: I don't believe you could choose a bad room. I toured most of them and there are good qualities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

our 8th stay @ the banyan house was as great as our 1st. sue & chuck make you feel @ home in this beautiful restored 1926 mansion. breakfast each morning is amazing, the gardens & pool are a bit of paradise. can not wait for a return visit.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is our second trip to the Banyan B&B on the island in Venice, FL. Proprietors Susan and Chuck see to your every need to make your stay a pleasant one. Unbelievable breakfasts challenge your palate each AM at 9. Beach cruiser bikes await you as you circumnavigate all the ins and outs of the island. A pool and hot tub are ready when you wish to relax. As other reviewers have noted, the inn is filled with antiques and curios to calm your senses.

There really aren't any comparable places to stay - the Inn at the Beach is a motel but is cheaper (but not much) if you prefer that. I recommend this place highly!

Room Tip: One room has an outside entrance for privacy. Others have secluded decks under the massive banyan t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I wish to say at the outset that I had reservations to stay at the Banyan House but cancelled them after a couple of difficulties regarding my reservation. I am writing this review to share my experience that the innkeepers seem to consider changing a reservation's terms proper.

Susan was very friendly and patient when I called in August to make a reservation. I also had a good feeling about the inn, which the local chamber of commerce had recommended.

I was concerned when my prompt confirmation did not include my rate. On inquiring about this, Susan informed me that the 2012 rates may increase but that she did not expect any increase to be significant.

Susan does get points for sensing my unhappiness with facing a higher rate than the one that existed when I made my reservation and for agreeing to not apply any increase to my stay. However, I did not think that changing any rate after a reservation was made was proper.

I even explained to Susan that I always book my "winter thaw out" trip in August because I know that B&Bs book up early during their busy times. I added that a few places that I have stayed had also told me that their rates increased in the period between making my reservation and my actual stay but never even asked me to pay the higher amount.

I was pleasantly surprised to receive a Christmas card from the Banyan House but unpleasantly surprised to see that the enclosed letter was primarily about adverse changes that were understandably due to economic challenges that the innkeepers were facing.

The only change that really bothered me was a notice that the inn was charging a four-percent fee for using a credit card. This was a significant change to my reservation.

The more minor changes included no longer providing a newspaper or telephone service.

I initially decided that I would not raise a fuss because I had already made an issue of the potential rate increase. I also decided that I would just pay cash.

After a particularly expensive January, and calculating the cash expenses that I would incur on the trip, I determined that having to pay the inn nearly $800 in cash would be burdensome.

Susan did kindly allow me to cancel my reservation. I was a bit put out that Chuck's polite response to my feedback regarding the change and the fact that it was in a Christmas card seemed to ignore that my issue was having a pre-existing reservation, rather than a policy change, and that Susan did not have time to send both a Christmas card and a second mailing that explained the austerity measures.

I suspect strongly that the inn does have an email mailing list of past and future guests and could have sent the notice of the cutbacks in an email.

I doubt that I will ever stay there out of concern that the terms of my stay will change materially before I arrive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast

Address: 519 South Harbor Drive, Venice, FL 34285
Location: United States > Florida > Venice
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Also Known As:
Banyan House Historic b&b
Banyan House Historic Hotel Venice
Banyan House Historic Bed And Breakfast Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Banyan House Historic Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list