We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scones!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Crust Cafe & Bakery

Upper Crust Cafe & Bakery
213 W Venice Ave, Venice, FL 34285
941-244-0430
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 209 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scones!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We got there just 10 minutes before, 3:00 pm, closing time. Everyone was very accommodating and didn't rush us at all! There was a little girl tea party just finishing. I had the Portabella sandwich with homemade chips which was very good, I did add some of the "house" hot sauce which gave it a zing. I didn't come for a scone but after reading about them I had to try one with Devonshire creme and so glad I did...sinful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    55
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Barnstable
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Upper Crust is a great place for breakfast but get there early or you'll have to wait...full breakfasts or just a scone and fruit, and mimosas of you're so inclined!
Service was excellent, and they also have outside tables available! Food was delicious!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good breakfasts, friendly servers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We drifted in one morning for a scone and coffee and were delighted to find full breakfasts (and a light lunch-menu) in an old-fashioned cafe atmosphere. The waitstaff was exceptionally nice.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cute place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I recently visited the Upper Crust with my husband and his grandparents whom we were visiting. We went for a late lunch (about an hour before closing), midweek, and it was quite busy. Fortunately, we were able to get a table right away. Overall, the sandwiches that we had were great, but the drinks and desserts are the real treats. Make sure to get something sweet before leaving!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So so pastry.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

After a busy day shopping on Venice Avenue I stopped at the bakery for a couple of sweets to have at tea time. I'm sorry to say they looked better than they tasted. They were bland and not very tasty. I also had to ask to be helped when there were several servers doing nothing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Crust Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Upper Crust Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Crust Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.