We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kon Tiki Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Motel
Save Saved
You added Kon Tiki Motel to your Saves list
1487 S Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Venice
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is great, we stayed the week of july 4th, very clean, owner on premises, very nice man friendly, makes a big difference, my room had a patio, which was great in evening, pool was nice too,I would definitely stay there again, and definitely recommend this place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Everything is great about this place, except its weird immediate surroundings: it's backed right up against a boat dealership's huge boathouse. (And what's wrong with that? Nothing at all, really. No noise, no bother. It's just weird.) Our efficiency room was spacious and comfortable, with a nice airy feeling. We really enjoyed being right on the Venice Waterway Park trails, with a nice, two-mile walk straight down to a public beach on the Gulf. The motel was pin-drop quiet (at least while we were there), in surroundings that we found quite peace, even with the nearby drawbridge and municipal airport.

Room Tip: This is a very small place, so be sure to ask if you have requirements like one vs. two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was a very good place for us to stay. It is like a home away from home with nice sized room, bathroom, and kitchenette. The outside was very pretty with nice plants and I like the Christmas lights along the walkway. The pool looked very nice but it was a bit cold for February.

The room looked like it was cared for and made to look attractive. I did find a couple of problems. The stove did not get hot when some of the buttons were pushed, and got warm with others. The spare pillows were pretty dusty and husband thought the whole room was dusty after smelling them. You can easily fix this problem with a plastic wrap around them

I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming from Kentucky to this area for twelve years . Our stay has been from two to four weeks . This is our first stay on Venice island , we has been staying on Casey Key. We are very pleased with our room , very clean and priced right. We are not on the beach or close but we are next to the inter coastal. We are bicyclist and are right next to the bike trail, we row out our bicycles and start riding. Today 73 degrees. Carl is a great host, give him a call. GPS , 1485 Tamiami Trail , Venice, Fl.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for 15 years. Very clean. The style is a bit old fashioned but rooms are large with high wooden ceilings. The onsite managers keep everything immaculate. Kitchen in room is perfect. Grill outside. Pool was empty while we were there and we felt like we owned the place. Very private. Kids enjoy watching the planes coming in for landing and the drawbridge and boats floating by. On intercoastal so can fish. Short drive to beautiful caspersan beach. We bring our boat and boat ramp is close by. Rooms are quiet. Would recommend this little motel over a more expensive option. Not very fancy but laid back and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I noticed there were a lot of men staying in groups here that were working in construction or whatever. I didnt' feel comfortable going out to the pool with all those men in there. I was traveling with my son and his friend. I liked the place, but will not stay there again as long as they rent to long term workers. Made me a little uneasy.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is one of the most charming motels I've ever been to. The owner was nice, the grounds are wonderful, pool clean, the room is adorable, large with high ceilings, a tiny kitchen and spacious bathroom. We asked for a non smoking room, there is a no smoking sign...BUT...somewhere in the ventillation system we were connected to a smoking room. Of course it could have been the office which smelled so bad I had to turn right around and walk out. Very very disappointed at this issue, plus a nasty headache the entire time. If you can handle the smell, its a very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kon Tiki Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Motel

Address: 1487 S Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285
Location: United States > Florida > Venice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Venice
Kon Tiki Motel Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kon Tiki Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.