We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back in October 2013!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kon Tiki Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Motel
Save
You added Kon Tiki Motel to your Saves list
1487 S Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Venice
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coming back in October 2013!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We didn't know what to expect since the Kon Tiki has no website and not many pictures available but we've been stung on misleading websites too!
The hosts, Jackie and Karl, are very nice and laid back. Very willing to help. We liked our spacious room with all the amenities. The look is rather dated but very clean. If you're looking for a nice mom and pop motel near everything, this is it. Not the Hilton but 1/2 the price! Great for dog owners too. Bringing the dogs in October. The bridge is right there so the horn may blow occasionally when it opens but we didn't hear a thing. There is one smoking room but the others are non-smoking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madeira Beach, Florid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed a couple nights at the Kon Tiki in Venice and had a great time. The room was clean and spacious with a view of the Venetian Waterway. Fully equipped kitchen(no oven but everything else) We were able to ride out of the parking lot right onto the bike trail. Management very friendly and knowledgeable. Price very good for an expensive part of Florida. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I watched this hotel being built in the early '70s. I was coming back to Venice by boat and this is the only motel with navigable access (it is adjacent to a Marine Max marina) I could find in Venice. I didn't expect too much given the low $80 price. I was wrong. The room was spacious, with a full kitchen and everything was spotless and well maintained. The reason why became obvious when we met the manager. He and his wife live on site and they let nothing go that needs attention.

Motel is close to a road and adjacent to a drawbridge over the waterway. That generates a bit of noise, but didn't bother me while sleeping.

Since we arrived by boat and didn't have a car, only downside is that restaurants were about a mile walk away. The motel manager offered to arrange to get a rental car for us, but we came in too late to make that work.

Room Tip: Only ten rooms so not much difference among them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

wow! I was completely blown away with this little hidden gem in Venice, FL!! I previously stayed somewhere else in town and I will never stay anywhere else again. I was in town for LPGA qschool at Plantation Golf Club. It's only about a ten minute drive. I chose Kon Tiki based on the great reviews and the very pet friendly remarks! Each unit is it's own bungalow. The units are beyond clean!! hotel is right next to the Venetian Waterway bike path. great place to take the dogs! They only charged $30 for the week for my two dogs and the owner really likes the dogs!! The owner was beyond friendly and accommodating! Felt safe and very cozy during my stay! Make sure you try Gold Rush BBQ down the street! Kon Tiki is just the getaway you are looking for!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few days in room 7 and we loved it! Everything is close by even the beaches and everyone is so friendly and the rooms are so clean and well kept, the pool was soooooooo nice. Karl, "Thank you" so much for all the helpful tips on the sharks teeth we will be back. ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent 2 days with Karl @ Kon Tiki & enjoyed every moment. Even though it is next door to a boat shop, you would never know it. It is tucked in between the drawbridge and boat business and secluded so well. We never heard any noise from either so no issues there! Karl is so kind and accomodating. I love that there are only 10 efficiencies. You usually have the pool to yourselves and eveyone opens up & talks to each other. Not like @ the huge hotels where people don't even bother to say, "hello". Everything was clean & the beaches are very close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 full weeks. We can honestly say that there isn't anything negative about this place in our eyes. Karl, Jackie & Linda couldn't be nicer. They take care of the facility and their guests perfectly. With only 10 efficiencies that are comfortable and spacious, heated swimming pool, central HVAC (no noisy window AC units) and being on the island close to downtown Venice and beaches what more could one ask for. This will be our vacation home from now on.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 that overlooked the swimming pool, intercoastal waterway and draw bridge. When we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kon Tiki Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Motel

Address: 1487 S Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Venice
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Venice
Kon Tiki Motel Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kon Tiki Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.