We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kon Tiki Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Motel
Save
You added Kon Tiki Motel to your Saves list
1487 S Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Venice
Spring Hill, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice local spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We've stayed here 3 years in a row for events and it is probably the nicest kept secret in the area. The rooms are spacious and clean. It is an older motel but surprisingly clean. It's a small business and service is personal but don't expect a 5 star experience. Wireless service is minimal. It makes for a nice 1 - 2 day stay to take in the local events.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

Nice clean mom and pop place. Great location on the icw. Owners on premises. Laid back atmosphere. Could use some updating on beds but otherwise comfortable and very clean. Fun watching the small plans fly over the pool. Next to the bike trail.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Found this hidden hotel in Venice. The front desk was great, Karl took good care of us. The room was large and very clean with sliders to a private deck. This unit had refrigerator, stove, microwave and all kitchen needs. Great swimming pool, there are only a few rooms at this hotel and easy to miss. Next time in the area will sure come back and stay longer. All this for under $ 80. a night. Not bad for what they have to offer. Hate to give such a good review since the price might go up,, but it's worth it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My wife and I were traveling with the grandchildren for the first time and wanted them to experience Caspersen Beach. We visited this area often with the grandchildrens mother when she was a young child. Kon Tiki Motel was our first visit and it was great and roomy place and quiet during the evening. The kids loved the swimmimg pool and we loved it too because it was fenced area and did not have worry about the children running off or wandering into the pool area. Also the motel was close to everything you may need. We hope to make make this trip an annual thing with the grandchildren and Kon Tiki Motel will be were we will stay.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I had passed this place plenty of times and would not have considered staying there had I not seen other review of it on line. I was so glad I did! This is a tiny family run hotel (i.e., not luxury, no internet service) and not on the beach but is very well run and clean. It has kitchenettes and a small but sparkling pool. The bed was comfy and we had plenty of room for the two of us and our dogs. The owners are very friendly and open, a nice change from many places in FL tourist towns. The hotel sits on a wonderful bike and walking trail, which runs along a canal and to the beach; I enjoyed a few lovely morning walks along it (see http://www.vabi.org/map.htm for a map of the trail). We plan to return!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We love it here. THe owners are amazing, the rooms are large and very clean... Close to food, shopping and the beach to dig up sharks teeth... We have stayed here 3 times now and have 2 trips booked next year already. <3

Peterson's
Des Moines, IA

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

We came to Venice to look for property to purchase for a future move.
Searched the internet and found this place. Called and scheduled a one night stay.
Headed back down there for a two night stay while we close the deal on the home we are purchasing.
Owners were great - loved the room and will recommend to others.

  • Liked — The lay out and privacy.
  • Disliked — I loved everything.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kon Tiki Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Motel

Address: 1487 S Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34285
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Venice
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Venice
Kon Tiki Motel Venice, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kon Tiki Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.