We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shang Hai Resturant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shang Hai Resturant
531 north central ave, Umatilla, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Umatilla
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: 352-669-2000
Restaurant details
Description: 352-669-2000
Eustis, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

For being a backwoods Chinese restaurant I love the hibachi! Its a lower quality but your in the woods you get that!
Their white sauce is the worst I've ever had but they do offer the best quality free chopsticks!
Overpriced

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“Terrific Asian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

After living in Florida for ten years we have long since passed the point when we expected to discover great Asian food outside of major urban areas. We have even grown weary of trying the many little restaurants hidden in strip malls selling the same frozen stuff.

We drove by the Shang Hai on our way through Umatilla and decided to give Asian food once last try. I am so glad we did. We now visit this happy little restaurant several times a month. When the craving for Asia food arrives we know where we can satisfy it.

I have never seen anyone working in this restaurant but the cook and his wife. It is a tiny little operation. There are generally not lots of diners, but they seem to do a big take-out business. None the less, they are exceptionally attentive, and after our second visit they recognized us and stopped to chat.

The food is fresh and cooked to order. The vegetables are fresh, not frozen. The sauces are carefully crafted and blended. You will not just eat something someone poured out of a bottle. The cooking style is healthy and tasty. The broccoli and celery still has a bit of crunch left when it reaches the table. The pork dumplings are yummy and served with their own unique dipping sauce. While deep-fried the sweet and sour pork and chicken are not greasy and are very flavorful. The Lo-mein is equally as well crafted.

The menu is extensive, and you can find almost every traditional Asian dish you might wish. The service is swift and personable.

The Shang Hai is certainly the best Asian restaurant in Lake County, and it is exactly where we go when we crave Asian food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umatilla
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We like to support our local restaurants, and were happy to see this little Chinese place open. We had sit down lunch twice and take out twice. Both were disappointing. The cook told us that perhaps the "burnt" favor came from the microwave while cooking the broccoli. We're tried and tried, but this place is off our list. The food never tastes good. Too bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umatilla, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I love the crab ragoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restuarant has been a part of our community for a long time! It was Lingh Garden before and when they relocated closer to the main throughfare, they changed the name and revamped the menu. The good food and good service continue! I just love their crab ragoon! The portions are always big and the quality of their food high! My friend had the house egg foo young the other night and it was enough for two meals! It had a variety of meats and vegetables with the egg foo young and she said it was delicious! The restuarant also does delivery and the food is packaged well and its hot when it arrives! A Shang Hai meal is a good meal!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shang Hai Resturant also viewed

 

Been to Shang Hai Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shang Hai Resturant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.