We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but no gluten-free dishes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sloppy Joe's Treasure Island

Sloppy Joe's Treasure Island
10650 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706
+1 727-367-1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, but no gluten-free dishes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant last year and had excellent food and service. This summer we wanted to make a new visit. This time we needed gluten-free options, and was surprised to be told that gluten-free dishes was not possible. That makes me wonder if the kitchen is as good as I would expect at such place.
Anyway: nice place, crowded and great view. But no place if you need gluten-free options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    404
    199
    70
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best sunset !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great food teamed with good service. The food was delicious, although the chefs aren't very flexible as my sister wanted the sauce on the side and they weren't willing to do it which resulted in a wasted meal. So fussy eaters beware. Also make sure you go to see the sunset as it was a great photo opportunity

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Sloppy Joe's Treasure Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear McNeil,

We are pleased to know you enjoyed all we have to offer here at Sloppy Joe's. We value our guest feedback and take it seriously when a guests needs are not met. We are able to modify many of our menu items to meet the needs of our guests and apologize for not having done so during your visit. Please be assured we will look into the matter. Thank you again and we hope you will think of us the next time you visit Treasure Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smoking yuck!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I loved that you can walk from our resort to Sloopy Joe's on the beach. It has indoor and outdoor dining with entertainment outside. Food was good and I had a perfect view where they sat us of the beach and entertainment. Unfortunately, they sat 2 smoking ladies next to us having the breeze place the smoke in our faces. I was a previous smoker and understand you need your cigarette, however, I believe it shouldn't be in a place of business where they sell food and they didn't have a smoking section, they can set anywhere outside. How ironic that they did have a sign right outside next to bar no cigar smoking, doesn't seem faire since it's all tobacco. I spoke with the manager and there's nothing they can do, but I still have to rock some waves. I believe they are required to have a smoking section. If you want to enjoy outside eating and watch the beach sunset, be prepared for smokers to be sharing your space.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Grouper & Sloppy Joes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

During our five days at Bilmar Beach Resort, we enjoyed both a dinner and lunch at Sloppy Joe's. This is a beach version of the legendary Key West bar with a live webcam of their Duval Street stage. Need to add conch fritters to the menu. Recommend the specialty "sloppy joe" sandwiches/nachos and grouper nuggets/tacos. Margarita was mediocre. Nautical decor is festive with scenic view of the beach. Staff is friendly. Will return during our next trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Sloppy Joe's drinks and location are perfect. Food is better than most”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

2nd visit and this time we ate too. Drinks are imaginative, if a little pricey. Chose grouper and it was tasty. Salads are enormous. Live entertainment was to a high standard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloppy Joe's Treasure Island also viewed

Treasure Island, FL
 
Treasure Island, FL
 

Been to Sloppy Joe's Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sloppy Joe's Treasure Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.