We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place - Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice Place - Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

The Island Inn is centrally located on Trasure Island. It is within easy walking distance to a few restaurants, bars and the new Publix supermarket. Island Inn is located on the narrower stretch of beach compaered to some of the other hotels a bit farther north. This makes for much easier walking to the Gulf.

The property itself is nice, but it does need some updating. The pool is small and is a bit noisy due to its location near the main road, but nonetheless very nice. It has a small tiki bard adjacent to it. Almost all rooms have direct gulf views. Our room was clean with some minor wear and tear. The staff was okay.

We ate and Ricky T's and Caddy's on the beach. Both are no-frills type place - perfect for our needs. All in all, I would recommend the Island Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    64
    21
    18
    15
See reviews for
43
70
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

While certainly not a 4 or 5 star property, we found the Island Inn to be clean, comfortable and had a great view of the Gulf of Mexico. Each room has a fair size balcony overlooking the ocean and the rooms are decorated nicely to the decor of the area. The beds were clean and comfortable. The bathtub was a bit dirty but I've seen much worse. The staff was always friendly and handy and were willing to answer our questions. We looked into some newer properties up and down Gulf Boulevard but they wanted as much as $450 per night. With our AAA discount, we only paid $139 which we felt was a good bargain considering the area. We would recommend this place to our family and friends.

  • Liked — The size of the room and the fantastic view of the Gulf!
  • Disliked — The parking arrangements were not the greatest.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

we have stayed at the Island Inn every Thanksgiving week for the last 6 years-and will continue to go back. We drive to the grocery store and stock up on food for the week. You can cook it in your room, as long as there is no oven required, burners and a microwave only, but you can use the gas grills. Its not the most exciting place but great for us beings were pretty mellow. The staff has always been nice and accomodating. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — the ability to cook in your room
  • Disliked — no free wi-fi
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

This was our second attempt to stay at the Island Inn as it is very close to family that live near by. We thought we just got a bad room the last time (very dated). Knowing the rooms were indivdually owned we gave it another try. This time it was worse! The room was fair and the pool area could use a refacing but our biggest problem was that they messed up our reservation and would make no attempt to fix it. I am not the type of person to ever complain but let alone right a bad review but there was not excuse for anyone to be treated the way we were on vacation. We do love Treasure island, the views were wonderful, we just will not be back to the Island Inn.

  • Liked — The view was incredible, tiki bar was nice
  • Disliked — room, pool, staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Our 8 day stay in March was our 3rd time with the Island Inn and, again, we were delighted with it. The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful, the rooms (we stay in a beach front room) are clean and nicely furnished, and the beach is huge and rarely has more than 20 to 50 people on it! This is the "quieter" part of Treasure Island in that there are not high rise hotels surrounding the Island Inn; a 10-15 minute beach walk in either direction will take you to busy areas - if you crave busyness. While there are a few categories of rooms available, we've always booked one of the beach front ones w/ either 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. The kitchenette is good for preparing breakfast (which we would eat on our private balcony each morning), lunch (ditto on the balcony...), and for keeping snacks and drinks at hand. We were so exhausted our first night there that we ordered take out food that we re-heated in the micro-wave and then, yes, dined on the balcony. This is not a multiple star resort - you are on your own for all of your needs. However, it is perfect if all that you want/need is a gorgeous beach, comfortable and clean accommodations, an efficient cleaning staff, and helpful front desk folks.

  • Liked — location, comfortable rooms, good value, golf and tennis nearby
  • Disliked — all was fine
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

We checked into the Island Inn the day after we got into Treasure Island. Our first night was spent in a hotel down the road that was a dump (the Jefferson). The staff at the Island Inn is very friendly and the room we rented was great (205)! It was recently updated with new cupboards, tile floors, and decorated very nicely. It was clean and comfortable. The beach/view were wonderful and there's a great tikki bar in the back, too! I would definitely go back to this hotel. We had a great time and hated to leave.

  • Liked — Location and the staff
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We stayed at the Island Inn after contacting a private owner directly via the Internet, and booking their condo on the 5th floor for a 10 night stay in July 2007. Treasure Island itself is a superb beach resort, rarely will you find somewhere so non-commercialised in the US, not even a McDonalds in Treasure Island! :-)
Lots of lovely restaurants and loads of places to see by going a trip in the car.

The Island Inn is a reasonably basic standard of accommodation and as we were using a private owner's condo we were self-catering. They had gone to a lot of effort to make the place really homely so our particular apartment was pretty unique.
Only downside was the uninvited intrusion of a few cockroaches the night we arrived, which put us off a bit. However we pest-sprayed the doorway every night after that and never saw any for the rest of the holiday.
Sitting on the balcony with a drink whilst seeing an almost deserted paradise beach in front of you was a real highlight, not to mention a sublime sunset.

A general criticism of the resort is that not much happens after 10 at night so if, like my girlfriend and I, after a day of sunbathing you like heading out for a meal quite late before heading out drinking at a lively venue, then you will struggle to find anywhere lively enough at all!
And definitely bring your passport because despite being well into our 20s we were ID-ed everywhere!

Would highly recommend Midway Grill as the best restaurant.
Treasure Island is a superb place to chill-out and enjoy the sun, whilst lots to see visiting the Gulf Coastline when you want to head out for the day.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn Beach Resort, located on the beautiful Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay is a tropical paradise where you can relax as you watch sailboats gliding across emerald green waters and wind surfers being chased by a warm, tropical island breeze. Lounge by the pool with an ice cold drink from our tiki bar or enjoy a walk on our World Famous Treasure Island Beach! The Island Inn Beach Resort offers something for everyone with a colorful mix of relaxation, fun and recreation, along with a friendly, courteous staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Treasure Island
Island Inn Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.