We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location! Ok hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Amazing location! Ok hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

First off, we booked a private condo through itrip so we had a renovated room. It was nice and we had no complaints. We noticed the hotel had kayaks available to guests and inquired. We were told that due to insurance issues, we were not permitted to use them as we were technically not guests of the hotel. That was a bit weird, but it became apparent that the staff have zero to do with renters of private condos. We were told that they basically give us the key and we were on our own. Once we got that out of the way, at least we knew where we stood.

So.....the view, the sunset, and the beach is amazing! This area is not as busy as further up towards Clearwater and much more geared towards our style. Cabanas were for rent on the beach for $25 or so per day.

The hotel pool was very nice....and warm, too! The only thing I found odd was when a hotel staff member kicked everyone out of the pool around noon time so he could vacuum and add chemicals. I have never seen this done. Virtually every hotel I know of does this sort of thing overnight or very early in the am.

Also used the hotel laundry. $1.25 per load. Machines had definitely seen better days but they definitely worked. Ten points for Maytag!

Bottom line, this is an older hotel that is showing its age. If the price is right, the location alone is worth it.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    64
    21
    18
    15
See reviews for
43
70
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The view from the balcony is amazing. Easy quick access to the beach that is rarely too crowded to enjoy. We are used to staying at 4 & 5 star resorts but this place came highly recommended by friends so we gave it a try. It is pretty quiet and a great location. Grills are available which we used to grill for a large group. Volleyball nets right out back and it wasn't hard to find a group to play with. The other patrons were very friendly even at the bar and pool areas. The rooms are antiquated but clean. The only draw back is that the parking is very limited on site but there is parking across the street.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Here on business and we reserved 3 rooms for the group. The place is right on the beach which is nice but when we get to the rooms it was a nightmare. One room reeked of mildew, one had what felt like a boxspring for a mattress, the third seemed dated but ok. The staff explained that each room is individually owned and decorated and showed us to a new set of rooms. The new set was equally bad if not worse. We decided that we would rather spend our money in a hotel that would at least be comfortable. The girls at the desk were polite but it required management who wouldn't even talk to us at first just told the girl at the desk that she wouldn't refund our card because they're sold out and we didn't cancel 72 hours in advance. Finally after multiple requests to speak to the manager, Jackie, she comes out. She's immediately hostile and loud. No concern for customers just kept saying that she had owners to worry about. She eventuallu threw a pen and said "f*** it, refund their money" then went on a long rant about people like us. Sorry but I'm not going to stay somewhere that is truly uncomfortable and possibly a health concern. Some hospitality training is definitely needed for the management there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

So we went to check in and the rooms are set up like efficiency units with a small kitchenette. We had booked 3 rooms. One didn't feel like there was a mattress just a box spring complete with creaking spring noises. One smelled of mildew. The other room was older but you could see there had been some TLC including paint and furnishings.
We were told by the front desk that we could be shown other rooms. We looked but those also were inconsistently furnished. And the quality was sub par. The staff was trying to help but the product was just not where it needed to be.
The manager was very rude, immediately began to rant stating "well, you have to pay for the rooms anyway because you have a reservation. " and "I see how you're going to be. " She was not at all professional. Once she did agree to refund the money, her comments did not stop. As I walked back into the lobby she was still griping to her staff about our group just being demanding. There was even another guest at the counter by this time. Very unacceptable. She would benefit from some training on hospitality and service.
The concept Island Inn is attempting to create is unique and could work but basics like quality control and uniformity are important.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Island inn. The room was very clean and the front desk
staff were fantastic. The pool was warm and clean. We slept with the door open to
the sound of waves. We will stay there again. My wife and I really enjoyed our time at
the Island inn. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Pete and Conni Xecominos

Room Tip: Just ask the hotel staff. They will go out of there way to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollynn H, Guest Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make every guest feel at home, so it is always nice to hear that we are succeeding. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

place looked ok. nothing great, but no problems with the room. Had the "old florida " feel.
about an hour after turning out the light the bugs came out. We checked out or left at 1:30 in am to go somewhere else. Our room was not booked direct from hotel, but from a condo owner in the building. Come to find out from the owner who was as wigged out as we were that the bugs go into the electrical outlets so to travel from room to room. They were treating all the rooms surrounding ours.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

WOW! You open the front door and the view just hits you (better then the pictures) - and the view only gets better further in on the couch, bed and then balcony. We've previously stayed at St. Pete Beach hotels, but never been THIS CLOSE to the beach. Sitting on the balcony listening to the waves break we saw dolphins and amazing sunsets. The pool was clean (and heated much better then the faux heated pools a lower priced hotels) and drew a good crowd. We met friendly people from all over the USA/Canada (and Europe), while our daughter even had other kids to play with. I think the number of returning guests we met confirmed our positive feelings were shared by others.

The room was clean and the beds reasonably comfortable. We slept well, were able to eat in/make breakfast on a number of mornings (we were somewhat on a budget) due to the well supplied kitchen and had enough Cable TV channels for the lesser weather times. The room included sand chairs (once again saving us $'s on renting beach loungers) for the easy walk (so so close) to the beach. The Island Inn itself was nice - the staff considerate and there was adequate (once again, very close) parking. With plenty of places to eat nearby, doubt we drove (or walked to a couple of times to the closer ones) more then a couple of miles. We much enjoyed our 8 days. Seeing no reason to look elsewhere am hoping the room (Shore Thing) will be available through ITRIP/VRBO in August and December when we finalize those trips to again see family. I'd recommend this hotel and especially this room (not all rooms were supposedly as clean) for all: older crowd (shorter walks/distances then other places), younger crowds (awesome pool/beach), those with families and most everyone in between......but please don't take our week(s). HAVE FUN!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollynn H, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hi Bill-
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a nice review!! It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay so much. We are extremely happy that you were able to take advantage of the location, nearby restaurants, shops, and enjoyed our pool and view. We are looking forward to seeing you guys again soon!! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn Beach Resort, located on the beautiful Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay is a tropical paradise where you can relax as you watch sailboats gliding across emerald green waters and wind surfers being chased by a warm, tropical island breeze. Lounge by the pool with an ice cold drink from our tiki bar or enjoy a walk on our World Famous Treasure Island Beach! The Island Inn Beach Resort offers something for everyone with a colorful mix of relaxation, fun and recreation, along with a friendly, courteous staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Treasure Island
Island Inn Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.