We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach vacation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect beach vacation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We rented via itrip and rented a privately owned room. The resort is directly on the ocean. Amazing sunsets!!! The beach is gorgeous and you can walk for miles. Saw dolphins and sting rays right in front of resort. Ricks tiki Bar is fun and provides drinks and snacks. Pool is clean and warm. Trolley stop right in front of resort. I recommend this resort. If you want a beach front property with a pool and bar for the right price this is it! Yes the resort is older. Yes there are things that need to be repainted. Yes the rooms are a bit dated. Who cares!!! It is a great little resort!!! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollynn H, Guest Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Kristin49855-
Wow we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We are extremely glad that we could help contribute to your perfect beach vacation! We agree the sunsets and beach are unbelievable. We are also pleased to know that you guys had an enjoyable time at the pool and at Rick's Tiki Bar. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a positive review and we hope to see you again very soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    67
    23
    22
    15
See reviews for
53
74
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The ads for this inn Cover the dicrepancy between what you get materially but the filth is not part of the disclaimer nor is the disrepair and lack of hygien and maintanance that I experienced in unit 503. Check your room before you pay the outrageous 200 dollars they are quoting you on the phone. The carpets in the room are not cleaned or vaccummed regularly. I asked for a vaccumm and did my room myself for the 21 days I was stuck in this room. I cleaned all the furniture and washed the blankets and removed the stained spread and put it in a cupboard and told them not to put it back on until I left. The pots are rusty and unusable so I purchased one for cooking but the elements did not work even after being repaired twice. The sheets they provide are well stained and thread bare. Do not look at the box spring stains or under the bed that you can't move to vaccumm or you won't sleep. They did have a bed bug cover on the Mattress but they also inhabit the box spring. My stuff froze for two night on the bus trip home and I don't seem to have any bugs but I washed and dried everything on high. Bring only old throw away clothes with you when you visit. The cupboards smelled of Mildew. The airconditioning is not properly maintained and could cause health problem. I left the patio door open until I left but it did not have a screen on it. The view from the patio at sunset is beautiful and degreaser removes the mildew from some lovely furniture, just as the leather cleaned the nice leather furniture inside, Thank goodness it wasn't fabric or the smell would have been worse. It is definately not the honeymoon suite they say it is, but rather grounds for divorce. The beach is beautiful but not owned by the inn. Pool area is well maintained and bar was handy. Planetall tours, of Sudbury, is planning to stay here again next year so be carefull about booking the 28 day Florida bus tour. I saw at least six other units and only one was worse than mine and they refused to stay in it. The others were equally unclean and I believe the staff is not give sufficient time between clients to clean properly and maintenence staff is busy fixing the unfixable rather than doing important maintance like airconditioning and heating unit cleaning. I saw people leaving after one night to move up the street. If the bugs are present in one unit the whole place needs fumigating and employees beware because you will bring them home. Still scratching but back home and will never book Florida sight unseen again. I gave management a summary of what was needed but they have not responded so renter beware.

Room Tip: Avoid unit 503 and 515 as they are owned by the same people. The ones complaining above the pool wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollynn H, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
In response to this review I have to first say that all of our rooms are cleaned daily and checked both by the executive housekeeper and our rooms inspector. We also have daily preventative maintenance to assure that everything is in working order. As for the issue of having bugs in our hotel, that is a false accusation. We also have weekly pest control and inspection for any type of bugs and have a clean report stating so. If the guest found a bug, perhaps it was because as she stated, she left her door opened all the time. It is Florida after all. Also if a guest has a complaint, we immediately send either a maintenance engineer or housekeeper to the room to fix any issue. It was also reported to us by her fellow tour group friends, that she complained about everything, everywhere she went, so I'm inclined to believe that it would not have mattered what we did to make her happy, she would not have been happy. We did not know that this guest was so unhappy until the day before she left, and at that time she handed me a letter telling of her unhappiness. If we would have known that she was this unhappy we would have done everything in our power to make sure she was satisfied, even if it meant refunding her money so she could go back home. I feel this review is very unfair, but I also know that sometimes no matter what you do to please people, sometimes there will be some that just want to remain unhappy. I assure you that our goal is always to make sure your stay at the Island Inn is a pleasurable and relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My sister and I booked this hotel for two nights. We had a great room. It was on the third floor above the pool and Tikki bar. Noisy you might think, however, no! Our room looked out over the gulf... beautiful! We had two double beds, a mini kitchen with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, stove/oven and sink. The staff was friendly. The air conditioner was dated and rather noisy. Thankfully, we didn't need to turn on the ac as the nights were cool, so we left the balcony door open with just the screen door. This hotel is older, so you may find a crack in the tile, but our room was really clean and comfortable. The location is great! The beach is not crowded at all and there are plenty of shells to pick up! We'll be back again next year.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you are going to get a gulf side room. The other side overlooks the street. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

While I'm spending the first hours home after traveling all morning attempting to de-bedbug my luggage and all my clothing, I feel compelled to share my experience with the Island Inn to save others from this scenario. The room, upon arrival, was pretty grim reeked of mildew. Only one elevator was operational, and this was only in the loosest sense of the word. We were unable to use any of the provided dishes without re-washing them, as they smelled as if they had been soaking in brackish water. The bathroom similarly smelled like brackish water(though my boyfriend referred to it as "sewage water," and the bathroom sink did not work. Plus, we got the pleasure of taking home luggage full of bedbugs, which must now bet expensively and disgustingly dealt with. The $200+ they charge per night is highway robbery, pure and simple. I would under no circumstances recommend staying at the Island Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollynn H, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
This is a very unfair and outright untrue claim. We have daily pest inspections as well as weekly services from a pest control company. While you were here we received no communication that there was any issues whatsoever. We are determined to create an enjoyable stay for our guests and we always strive to make sure that we accommodate your every need. If your not satisfied with your accommodations, the front desk staff is there to make sure all issues are handled in a professional and polite manner and to make sure that every guest is taken care of. However, we are unable to do this if we receive no communication from the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Reading the reviews posted here tells me more about the people writing these reviews than the truth about the experience of staying at "Island Inn." When we check out on Sunday we will have been here for more than 19 nights, experiencing several different rooms on different floors as we kept extending our stay because of the bad winter up north. The rooms vary greatly depending if the owner of each unit has renovated yet.
If you are looking for 5 star amenities then your expectations are too high, the focus is on the beach, there are BBQs for us to use, an awesome heated pool and sunsets so beautiful that make you overlook a little cracked paint, etc. YES they need a better system for cleaning the floors, but we are AT THE BEACH! The staff are SO helpful, and you can tell they are trained very well for pretty much any reasonable issue you can throw at them, and never seem annoyed at being asked what is probably the same question for the 100th time that day. (I am staying here with my family and 2 babies, so I have had a lot of requests!) If you are ok with beautiful but retro, this is the place :) We want to come back here at least once a year! :)

Room Tip: all rooms except a couple suites have an amazing ocean view, for a family I would suggest 310 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldon, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room is so nasty that you should ALWAYS wear shoes! Carpet in the room is sticky and stained. Front desk was rude and not helpful. Beds are from 20 years ago and hard as a rock! The only nice thing about this hotel is the beach and Gulf views. The website is not the room you get, very misleading.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstoutSeminole_Fl, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello-
Thank you for your feedback. All of our rooms are individually owned so all are different. We are very sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience, we will always do everything we can do accommodate a guest, whether that be moving you to a different room or sending our housekeeper up to rectify the situation. We can also try to get you a room that has no tile in it upon request (either at booking or during your stay).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were lucky enough to choose this hotel recently for 2 nights before we got on our cruise. We almost decided on the Bilmar but last second changed to the Island Inn. The beach is not as wide at the Island Inn. When you sit on your deck you have amazing views and are much closer to the water, which is why we were there.....for the beach !!! You can hear the waves from your room ! The manager was amazing and helpful in so many ways. Great restaurants with early bird specials and bars for live music and dancing walking distance so you don't have to drive. Another big suprise....you have water in the front and back of your place ! The inter coastal is seen at the front of the hotel and on the back of the hotel you have amazing ocean views. We are very outdoorsy and found adventures all around us. The pool and poolside bar were fun with fruity drinks and nice people ! Free hot coffee in the morning. We travel to beaches everywhere and found this to be one of our favorites ! Our room, was updated and cozy ! The management team was very helpful and available immediately ! No big crowds but enough going on to for some entertainment. Try it out.....we plan on going back ASAP to let our kids see !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstoutSeminole_Fl, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi!
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such an outstanding review. We strive to give every guest the experience you had and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourself so thoroughly. We hope to see you again very soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#21 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#24 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#4 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina
Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina
#20 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Beach Club
Blue Waters Beach Club
#36 of 45 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#2 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn Beach Resort, located on the beautiful Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay is a tropical paradise where you can relax as you watch sailboats gliding across emerald green waters and wind surfers being chased by a warm, tropical island breeze. Lounge by the pool with an ice cold drink from our tiki bar or enjoy a walk on our World Famous Treasure Island Beach! The Island Inn Beach Resort offers something for everyone with a colorful mix of relaxation, fun and recreation, along with a friendly, courteous staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Treasure Island
Island Inn Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.