We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 43 hotels in Treasure Island
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great beach getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Reading the reviews posted here tells me more about the people writing these reviews than the truth about the experience of staying at "Island Inn." When we check out on Sunday we will have been here for more than 19 nights, experiencing several different rooms on different floors as we kept extending our stay because of the bad winter up north. The rooms vary greatly depending if the owner of each unit has renovated yet.
If you are looking for 5 star amenities then your expectations are too high, the focus is on the beach, there are BBQs for us to use, an awesome heated pool and sunsets so beautiful that make you overlook a little cracked paint, etc. YES they need a better system for cleaning the floors, but we are AT THE BEACH! The staff are SO helpful, and you can tell they are trained very well for pretty much any reasonable issue you can throw at them, and never seem annoyed at being asked what is probably the same question for the 100th time that day. (I am staying here with my family and 2 babies, so I have had a lot of requests!) If you are ok with beautiful but retro, this is the place :) We want to come back here at least once a year! :)

Room Tip: all rooms except a couple suites have an amazing ocean view, for a family I would suggest 310 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    50
    18
    17
    13
See reviews for
37
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Eldon, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The room is so nasty that you should ALWAYS wear shoes! Carpet in the room is sticky and stained. Front desk was rude and not helpful. Beds are from 20 years ago and hard as a rock! The only nice thing about this hotel is the beach and Gulf views. The website is not the room you get, very misleading.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstoutSeminole_Fl, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello-
Thank you for your feedback. All of our rooms are individually owned so all are different. We are very sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience, we will always do everything we can do accommodate a guest, whether that be moving you to a different room or sending our housekeeper up to rectify the situation. We can also try to get you a room that has no tile in it upon request (either at booking or during your stay).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were lucky enough to choose this hotel recently for 2 nights before we got on our cruise. We almost decided on the Bilmar but last second changed to the Island Inn. The beach is not as wide at the Island Inn. When you sit on your deck you have amazing views and are much closer to the water, which is why we were there.....for the beach !!! You can hear the waves from your room ! The manager was amazing and helpful in so many ways. Great restaurants with early bird specials and bars for live music and dancing walking distance so you don't have to drive. Another big suprise....you have water in the front and back of your place ! The inter coastal is seen at the front of the hotel and on the back of the hotel you have amazing ocean views. We are very outdoorsy and found adventures all around us. The pool and poolside bar were fun with fruity drinks and nice people ! Free hot coffee in the morning. We travel to beaches everywhere and found this to be one of our favorites ! Our room, was updated and cozy ! The management team was very helpful and available immediately ! No big crowds but enough going on to for some entertainment. Try it out.....we plan on going back ASAP to let our kids see !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstoutSeminole_Fl, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi!
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such an outstanding review. We strive to give every guest the experience you had and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourself so thoroughly. We hope to see you again very soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I am a fan of the old florida way of life. This hotel and condos are reflective of that. I rented a kitchenette for the second time though it was a different unit. The hotel is central to the area, has a heated pool, and is directly on the beach. I wake up, make my coffee and watch the sun come up over the Gulf of Mexico. It's a great price for what is on offer. A new bonus this year was wifi in the rooms. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very disappointed rooms dirty bed terrible. Not close to anything. Just a terrible place unless you don't care to enjoy yourself. Parking was limited. We moved to nanother place and saved our beach weekend

Room Tip: Best thing I can say is stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked this room through the internet. Of course, in looking back - the room we were in wasn't in the photos used in the website. Stay out of room #413. FILTHY! Hair EVERYWHERE - the balcony, the carpet from 1960, the tiled bathroom, stuck to the wall, etc.! Do not stay here.

We checked in at 3:00pm, were disgusted so bad that we left for dinner to try and figure out what to do as it was New Years Eve, left for a nice dinner, came back and checked out by 8pm.

Stayed long enough for the Karaoke bar below to start up. Bad, Bad, Bad.

Only positive was we could see the beach/Gulf, just couldn't hear it (Karaoke).

Room Tip: Room 413 is loud, old and filthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This resort is a condo owned property with balcony rooms to the beach or a few facing the bay. It is clean and reasonably priced located near shopping and restaurants. Our unit had a kitchenette including refrigerator, 2 burner stovetop, sink, microwave, toaster, toaster oven, and all the dishes and cookware needed. We made our own breakfast and lunch eating on the balcony at times. There are grills to use and a full bar by the heated pool with a view of the beach. We would return for another vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn Beach Resort, located on the beautiful Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay is a tropical paradise where you can relax as you watch sailboats gliding across emerald green waters and wind surfers being chased by a warm, tropical island breeze. Lounge by the pool with an ice cold drink from our tiki bar or enjoy a walk on our World Famous Treasure Island Beach! The Island Inn Beach Resort offers something for everyone with a colorful mix of relaxation, fun and recreation, along with a friendly, courteous staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Treasure Island
Island Inn Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.