We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a fun long weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Treasure Island
Ft Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This was a fun long weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was a fun long weekend!

My best advice is read the reviews of this property. They are for the most part correct and true to our experience. If you want fancy then pay for fancy somewhere else. If you understand what the phrase “old school Florida Hotel” means, and that appeals to you, then you will be fine with this location. We had a wedding in Treasure Island and the location was perfect for us.

The staff is GREAT. Front desk goes out of their way to make your family beach experience fun. We used the FREE amenities to make our weekend better. We used the “stand-up” paddle boards and the kayaks. My kids laughed and loved it when the dolphins would swim by our kayak. We saw a large pod of sting rays and of course you never get tired of seeing the dolphins swim. A prior guest had left sand toys so we used those each day and one night we used the hotel’s grill. Our room was 202 and had two beds and a pull out couch. The tile floor was nice. The kitchen had everything we needed to have breakfast in our room and allowed the kids to run back up to the room for lunch or a snack. The bathroom was updated and had a nice shower. Beds are due to be replaced, but not evil.

We had a beverage at Rick’s and swam in the very warm, heated pool.

Due South, within walking distance on the beach, is a beach-bar called Caddy’s. Food is fine and on the weekends it gets crowded with sun-worshipers.

When I have a preference of where we stay in Pinellas County, than I like Clearwater Beach better. I find there are more things to do, more restaurants and more hotel choices. I am a big fan of the original restaurant “Frenchy’s” (http://frenchysonline.com/) and the “Crabby Bills” in Indian Rock Beach.

Although we did not go this visit, we have been to the Salvador Dali Museum in St Pete. (http://thedali.org/home.php) They have an audio tour for adults and a separate audio tour for the kids. The kid’s version is narrated by Dali’s mustache. The whole family enjoyed our tour.

For those of you out of state I hope this review helps. Please come to Florida often!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    56
    19
    17
    13
See reviews for
41
56
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Waldwick, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Let me start off by saying if your looking for something like the Ritz Carlton, then this place is not for you. But if your looking for a clean room with a great view and right on the beach, then look no further. True the place is a little dated but again it's clean and the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

the views of the gulf are great but the inside needs a lot of work, some rooms are private owned, they are in it for the money no doubt, our room needs to be gutted, way over priced for what you get, service is pretty good although for the most part, a lot of partying going on, especially on the weekend, if you are looking for quiet and relaxing you may want to go elsewhere, the rooms are very small, the bathroom sink is by the door entrance, the rooms smell extremely musty. the air conditioner is window mounted/loud/noisy/only inches from the bed, lot of drunks at the tiki bar on the weekend, pricing at the tiki bar is inconsistent and the overweight chick that works there really should put on some clothes and not hang out of her thong-like apparel

Room Tip: shop around, go for cleaner and quieter unless you like to party and get wasted
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you really want to experience the beach but can't afford the fancy, more expensive beach hotels. I am a teacher and was on a girls' trip for my spring break and didn't want to spend a fortune and this was great for us. Having a kitchen in the room really kept costs down and we stayed on the fifth floor where I could keep the sliding door open to listen to the ocean at night without worrying about too much pool noise in the morning.

I did find a few surprises, however. If you are afraid of heights or are wary of your little ones, don't stay on a high floor--the open-air walkways feel a bit narrow when you're 5 stories up. The mattresses felt like they were last changed decades ago (gave my friend a sore back and we're in our 20's) but they were right by the balcony which I liked. When I got to my room before my friend I used the bathroom right away and then went down to the beach. About an hour later when I returned I realized the toilet was running and when I called down to the front desk the girl said the maintenance person had left for the day so I'd have to wait until morning. This is a very annoying problem that wastes a lot of water and I know how to fix it so I just used the grilling fork in the silverware drawer to fish the disconnected chain out of the fill tank of the toilet and reattached it. Not exactly what I saw myself doing on my vacation--but oh well.

BUT the kitchen, free kayaks, quiet beach and tiki bar made up for the self-repair earlier in my stay. There is nothing like grilling out while watching a picture-perfect sunset and then taking a stroll down a quiet stretch of beach with the waves crashing at your feet once it gets dark. No one really mentions the fishing pier on the bay side of the hotel in the parking lot either! (Fun place to sit and watch for dolphins) I will definitely be returning--just maybe at a time when I can get a little bit better of a deal than the high-season rate for the hotel.

Room Tip: If you get a room on either end of the ocean view you get a corner to your balcony and no neighbor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My idea of heaven on earth. We were on the 6th floor beach side. Able to open balcony door and hear the surf day and night! Saw Dolphins two mornings in a row. Walked on the powder soft sand and swim I. The pool. Your choice. I will return for sure!

Room Tip: Loved being on an upper level so we could have the balcony door open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Terrific location right on the beach on a relatively quiet section of the Gulf shore. Rooms on the small side, in serious need of updating. Tiny bathroom. Mattress overdue for replacement. Dangerous looking electrical connections with residential style extension cords and power strips because of a lack of sufficient outlets. No fee wireless Internet connection in the room. Lot of Gulf Blvd. traffic noise in the room. Nice poolside bar with enthusiastic staff.

The Treasure Island area is a good base for your Gulf adventure. There are dozens of ocean beachfront and Intercostal frontage hotels. Evaluate several for the level of accommodations and value to best fit your needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall stay was good, however our car got white spray paint all over it including the windows by a maintenance guy who was spray painting pieces of metal outside the back of the building next to our car and others that were parked there. We noticed after we washed it once we arrived home and we have placed several calls to the resort and the manager will not return our call. We were there from Wednesday April 3 to Saturday April 6

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn Beach Resort, located on the beautiful Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay is a tropical paradise where you can relax as you watch sailboats gliding across emerald green waters and wind surfers being chased by a warm, tropical island breeze. Lounge by the pool with an ice cold drink from our tiki bar or enjoy a walk on our World Famous Treasure Island Beach! The Island Inn Beach Resort offers something for everyone with a colorful mix of relaxation, fun and recreation, along with a friendly, courteous staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Treasure Island
Island Inn Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.