We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

First, it is not like a fancy hotel, so if that is what you are looking for, pay more money and get what you want. I've stayed at both, and I like Island Inn better, it is more like home.

Our family has stayed at Island Inn resort many times over the last 10 years.. units are individually owned, so they are all different. Some have invested more in their rooms, and more updated. You won't find a better view of the gulf for the money. Most of the rooms are gulf view, and close to the water. I love to sleep with the door open listening to the waves. Spent many great evenings watching the sunset from our balcony...peaceful and relaxing.

Since they come with small kitchens, table/chairs it is great to get up, look out over the water while fixing breakfast for the family. It has been economical for me as I have three kids. We have enjoyed grilling dinner on the beach (grills provided) and viewing all from my balcony just a short distance away. The pool area is great, nice tiki bar, friendly people and although it is older, it is kept clean. The beach is kept clean. Kids have enjoyed playing volleyball and games, again, while I sat watching from the balcony. If you ck out you can still use their facilities to clean up afterwards... can't beat that. It has been a great place for vacationing as a single parent.. we love it.

only con... I am now returning to vacation w/ my sister as my kids are grown, and some rooms are just getting tired. I have mentioned to front desk, they have let me visit several rooms to pick out the one I was most comfortable in... so staff still friendly as ever.

Room Tip: Most rooms are gulf view, those are the ones you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    56
    19
    17
    13
See reviews for
41
56
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We have stayed at various places around Treasure Island for over twenty years...the Island Inn remains as one of our favourite places in the area. Other reviews make mention of the Bar-BQs and the clean warm pool and Tiki bar which all contribute to a vary enjoyable stay. Our balcony from the 5th floor had a wonderful view of the beach and the ocean. The sunsets are beautiful and we will be returning in a couple of weeks for another stay before heading back North.
You can walk for miles along the beach in both directions and there is no end to the amount of great restaurants in the area The units appear to be individually owned and then managed for owners who have offered then for rent. this would explain why some units may have some better features than others.
The Island Inn has a new manager (Jaclie Stout) who appears to be always around,smiling and willing to address any concerns that you may have.

Room Tip: Ocean views are worth the additional cost...www.islandinnresort.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. You have your own balcony on the beach with beautiful sunsets. A full size refrigerator with a kitchette comes in handy if you don't want to eat out every meal. They have grills, corn hole game and kayaks for the guests to use free. A heated pool with a tiki bar. Room was clean and ample size with lots of light. Not dark and dingy. Yes it is an older hotel but nothing hurt the wonderful stay there. If you want high end plush go somewhere and pay a lot more. If I had one con it would be sometimes the parking lot is full so you have to park in their lot across the street. Treasure Island is more of the "old Florida" feel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

When our usual Treasure Island destination was booked we started searching for a place to spend a much needed week at the beach. An online search led us to the Island Inn Beach Resort. Being old school I called and spoke wtih Vicki, who was kind and very helpful! She asked if we were visiting for a special occasion and I explained that our 30th wedding anniversary had been a couple of weeks prior and with the hubs taking an emergency trip to the hospital for surgery we had to change our plans. She helped me with a reservation and found us a super rate for the week!

Upon our arrival we were very pleasantly surprised to find that there was COVERED parking available! This is something that you just don't find on the beach! We checked in and Vicki remembered our telephone conversation! Our room was big, the bed was comfy and the balcony view (which every room has) was beautiful! The full sized fridge held a bottle of champagne for us, and that was when I remembered that I had mentioned our anniversary. We had a 2 burner stove, microwave, coffee maker, toaster over and blender to use! This is clearly more than a hotel, it felt more like a condo with many of the amenities of home.

They offer FREE kayaks and canoes to their guests! The beach is clean, the pool is large and very clean! There are 2 sand volleyball courts too! The tiki bar is a convenient place to grab a drink or small meal/snack. All of the drinks are wine based as there is no liquor served.

A Publix grocery store is an invigorating walk north on Gulf Blvd and our room key got us a free reusable grocery bag too!

This facility is a mix of hotel room and condos. It is quiet and relaxing. Give it a try, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel often over the last 20 years because of value and location. Location remains it's strong suit with great views of the Gulf of Mexico and beach. The staff remains an asset being both friendly and helpful. The grounds and pool are well kept. Several outdoors toys and new gas grills are available for use and the beach area provides lounge chairs and sun shades. (Not a hotel service).
Having said that, the rooms need some TLC. Our unit furniture was "seasoned" and needs to be replaced. It also could use a fresh coat of paint and some carpentry. Mind you, not a game changer but not as nice as some (for a higher price) on the island.
All in all, still a nice reasonably priced getaway destination. DON'T MISS THE SUNSETS!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is great--large room with kitchenettes and a balcony right on the beach. Our room was clean, the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the pool and the tiki bar. So many restaurants and bars close by, you can't even believe it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Pro con list... Cons: The room is not ultramodern and the staff is not courteous (they were not outright mean, but if you were selecting a property for friendly service, you would never consider this property). The parking required the lot across the street so getting to and from the car involved darting runs across a busy 4 lane road. If you need beach towels on day of check out, you have to threaten to walk across the lobby dripping wet for them to see it as a mutually beneficial idea to then give them to you.

Not quite pros, but livable: The luggage carts are helpful if you can get one (we didn't have success on the way in, but did on the way out.) The elevators are pretty good and there was never a big crowd waiting but they are a little tight. The room was not dirty - it was mostly clean feeling but in their defense, it is a beachside inn, and everyone is trekking sand in there and stuff gets wet, etc. The AC worked but was noisy and uni-directional. The closet had descent space but the doors didn't quite slide back and forth. The appliances, rug, fixtures, etc were sooooo not new but all worked. The pull out couch gave an extra bed but asking for sheets and then a blanket for it, you'd have thought I was going to pull off their toenail. I asked to extend check out and they said no. Then they said 30 minutes, then they forgot they said 30 minutes. Then they remembered they said 30 minutes, then Housekeeping came early anyway and had to go check with the desk again - not totally on their game but no harm done - just annoyance.

Pros: The location was great - nice beach, great distance to the room! The guy washing the deck and managing the outdoor area in the back was very nice. Good choice of food in the area (short drive or loooooong walk) - Sloppy Joe's up the road had great food. The artwork on the wall in the room gave it a little lift. The balcony view rocked! The SUNSET WAS AWESOME!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn Beach Resort, located on the beautiful Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay is a tropical paradise where you can relax as you watch sailboats gliding across emerald green waters and wind surfers being chased by a warm, tropical island breeze. Lounge by the pool with an ice cold drink from our tiki bar or enjoy a walk on our World Famous Treasure Island Beach! The Island Inn Beach Resort offers something for everyone with a colorful mix of relaxation, fun and recreation, along with a friendly, courteous staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Treasure Island
Island Inn Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.