We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort to your Saves list
Thunderbird Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I traveled with my elderly parents, pop in a wheelchair mom with a walker.
Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and to provide us with everything we needed.
Rooms were clean and beds comfy, large screen TV and gulf front view..all one could ask for and then some...
The music was great and within walking distance to outside restaurants and shopping.
Don't forget to eat breakfast and lunch at the Tiki Cafe, food was home cooked,made to order and delivered hot; quite a choice too!
Servers provided all the necessities and refills without asking.
Will I return???....as soon as I can get away...packing my bags now as we speak......

Stayed July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    325
    97
    49
    52
See reviews for
454
323
40
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lithia, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Hotel is older, but acceptable. Beach is distant. Hotel night manager is arrogant and rude. Parking is insufficient for number of rooms, and while mgmt claims to enforce parking rules like one space per vehicle, no parking in driveway, and no double parking, they DO NOT and were more than happy to tell us that we are blocked in for the night, and there is nothing they can do about it. I was told that security works 3 properties and may not make it here to deal with the issue until the next day. Won't stay again unless they get serious about this problem.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

It always feels like home to me when I'm at the Thunderbird. I loved spending another one of my mothers birthday weekend (July 30th) at the Thunderbird. Check in and check out is a total breeze! Sarah and Barbara are so professional and are truly the most caring and helpful ladies I've met in this staffing position. Love the rooms,beach views, bartender- Fawn makes the best bushwacker this side of St. Thomas V.I., friendly service, and the hot tub-perfect temp always. See you all at Christmas, if not sooner.
Picture is of my mom's birthday last year at Thunderbird. "Beautiful Barbara" R.I.P. 1/20/10

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Great location on a beautiful, wide beach. The hotel is older but appears to be recently "refreshed". The room had newer furniture and paint, but there were small touches of a haphazard remodeling, such as old two-prong outlets and an old switch on the wall that had been simply painted over. (Good luck plugging your laptop into one of those old outlets!) Overall the room was clean except there was some hair in the bathroom.

For us, our room was the possible location: third floor gulf view farthest from the pool. The pool area was very busy and noisy throughout the day and night, so we were glad to be as far away as possible. We wouldn't recommend staying in one of the pool view rooms unless you like crowds and sharing your "balcony" (aka walkway) with a bunch of other people.

We had a good breakfast at the onsite Tiki Cafe. Overall a pleasant stay, but choose your room wisely if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The staff at the THUNDERBIRD WAS SUPERB...from the hotel front desk (SARAH) TO THE maids...everyone made us feel welcome and very friendly... we deft will stay again...Thank U sarah for all your help and kindness u deserve BIG WOW!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

kinda old, but very nive, cosy, clean rooms. This its a hotel you find in any travel agency, not in Europe anyway, I fund it via tripadvisor and we where not dissapointed. I had made an reservation for a queen room, pool side, but when we arrived we upgraded to a room with kitchnette. That was a good choice. The atmosphere was excellent. the music and tiki bar was amasing every night for app. 5 pm to sundown. Children playing in the pool and grownup enjoying a drink and the sunset in a great atmosphere. Kind and helpful people. It was like staying with your family. thombs up for this hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Great hotel and resort ! Very friendly staff and helpful staff. Family owned. The room was very nice and comfortable with a beautiful view. The location is perfect for experiencing real Florida and the Beaches on the Gulf of Mexico. Very NICE beach and very clean. Walking distance to stores, shops and eating establishments.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.