We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort to your Saves list
Thunderbird Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mt Dora, FL
1 review
“Always a pleasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

This is the 4th year I've stayed here in January and thoroughly enjoy it. We come for a class in the "banquet" room for the weekend and are always more than comfortable. Even when things change, such as the restaurant, we understand this and always find accomodations great. The kitchen facilities are adequate and the housekeeping services are top notch. Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    325
    97
    49
    52
See reviews for
454
323
40
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st. petersburg, fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I live in the area and have stayed at the hotel before and enjoyed it. So when plaaing my wedding and reception I thought what a great place to have a wedding on the beach and a casual reception in the courtyard. After 3 calls and a visit to the hotel I could never get anyone to return my calls and finally after a complaint letter I got a response the pretty much blew me off. I explained to them that they were about to lose about $4000 in one day and still a blow off. Very disappointed in them.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternManager, General Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2010
Our goal is complete customer satisfaction with our property and services. We value our return guests and apologize for not meet the guest's expectations on initial contact. We are attempting to make arrangements with the party that will lead to a successful reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Stayed at the thunderbird 3 nights in march 2007. The hotel, pool and beach were great. I have been trying to book a wedding a the thunderbird, could not get any returned phone calls from the person in charge. tried 3 times, got a call back a week later.. the lady was so scary that i asked her to stop talking and ill call back for someone else to talk to. i had so much trouble trying to get information on food/reception. called the bilmar.... total different experience. i liked the thunderbird so much that i will have some guests still stay there but i will stay at the bilmar to deal with the wedding part of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternManager, General Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2010
We apologize for not meeting the reviewer's expectations. Our goal is to provide an outstanding experience and superior customer service to all guests. We regret not always being able accommodate all requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Best Western Sea Castle…
Treasure Island, FL

We're reasonably experienced travelers and kudo’s go out to the great staff of this quaint beachfront hotel. The rooms (which are all suites) were clean and comfortable, the maid service was prompt and gracious, and our suite was just the right size. Two TV’s, Gulf front view, free internet, deck, and check-in was a snap with Linda who was very pleasant . The property next door (Thunderbird) was also available at our disposal for: pool, Tiki Bar, etc. Special thanks go out to Louis for making us feel at home. Highly recommended and a 5-Star***** experience.
Thanks,

G&S
Allentown, PA

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The Thunderbird staff helped us out with all of our needs and knew the area so well that they could provide suggestions for activities that made our holiday even better. We particularly enjoyed our cleaning person, Monique!! We have a teen aged son who enjoys sleeping late on vacation and Monique always would do our room at our convenience. She had compliments and got to know us over our two week stay at the Thunderbird. She always did such an incredible job for us, even cleaned our fridge when we had a frozen pop can explode inside of it!! She just seems to embody the warm, friendly spirit of Florida and vacaction happiness.
Our room was on the beach, lowest level, and every day we watched as the gardener and pool staff cleaned up the area to make sure it was spotless for the guests. The beautiful sunsets were lovely to watch while seated in the warmth of the heated pool. Even though our weather was not the warmest, the heated pool allowed us to swim in the evening. I also must commend the Security person who asked some very noisy young children, who were not being watched by their parents at the time, to lower their voices and to calm down so as not to bother those who were craving peace and quiet. Bravo Thunderbird!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford, il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

The parking was horrible, their was a horrible smell to the room, showers were horrible you either had scortching hot water or ice cold, not to mention when turning on the water both in the bathroom and in the kitchen sink it was yellow with a very bad odor! The pull out hidabed was broken, and pool was off limit after sunset! I deffinatley would not recommend to anybody!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Our family has enjoyed another Christmas at the Thunderbird Beach Resort. The beaches here are the some of the best in the United States. There is a sidewalk that runs along the beach for about a mile and a half. People jog in the moring and also walk their pets
No boardwalks with rats living under them, like you would find in northern states along the Atlantic coast.
We had two rooms adjoining on the end close to the Cafe. The courtyard is very well kept and all the staff are friendly and helpful. We like to thank Jim K. for making our reservations and helping us select different places to have dinner each night. Also a thank you to Marty the night auditor and Chris the security man for ensuring that the courtyard and pool were quiet during the night. Sarah was at the Front Desk in the mornings always greeting us with a friendly smile. We will be back again next year. You just can't find a better beach and area to visit. Jim is always ready and willing to help us with driving directions and recomendations of sights to see and things to do.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.