We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort to your Saves list
Thunderbird Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Treasure Island
south carolain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

What a wondful place to spend a vacation. The pool is great and the staff is excellent. From the house keeping to the front desk. They made my family and I very havppy. Plan on being back next year. If your going t o treasure Island please plan on making a stop at the thunderbird.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    294
    88
    48
    47
See reviews for
414
301
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

My wife, 12 year old daughter, and I wanted to stay on the beach after a cruise out of Tampa. I google searched and found the website for the Thunderbird. I booked their online deal for a third floor (top) balcony ocean view room (without the oven and kitchen amenities). The price was very good. The pictures looked great on their website. Upon arrival, the resort was even better than their photos. Clean and beatiful with well manicured lawns, shrubs, and trees. A great pool area with plenty of seating areas and umbrella tables. The front desk service was terrific. Our room was spacious and clean and the big balcony's view was stunning. We have no complaints about the room, the beds were comfortable as so were the chairs. The night we got in, the staff apologized that their boiler had broken and they had no hot water until noon the next day. They offered to take money off our first night's stay. Things happen so that was fine with us. They even offered to have us stay at another of their resort's but we really liked the Thunderbird. I was nervous that the Tiki Bar and it's live music might become boisterous and go on until the wee hours of the night. Both shut down at sunset (amazing sunsets too, of course) and all was quiet. The beach is so white, you better have good sunglasses. The water was clear and warm and shallow for little ones to play in. The grounds crew was constantly vacuuming the pool, raking the sand, sweeping the patio areas, and keeping everything looking great. The was a security guard on site but I sure don't know why they'd need one. It's nice to have though. Walking distance to Publix and Walgreens and many gift shops was very handy. We bought bread, cheeses, and lunch meats to store in our room's fridge and then ate our sandwiches and chips on the beach. There are so many local quality restaurants within a short drive, you can choose a different one every night. We ate at the Lobster Pot and the Friendly Fisherman. Both were great. John's Pass is a great area just a five minute drive away for fishing charters, dolphin viewing charters, snorkeling, parasailing, jet skis, etc. We drove to Disney World one day and it was just an hour and forty five minutes away. Busch Gardens is much closer as is the Mote Aquarium and many other Tampa area attractions. If we ever go back to the Treasure Island area again, we'll stay at the Thunderbird again. We all loved it. A family looking for a relaxing time on the beach would be well served by this resort. It's small in size but that means you get more personal attention by the staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

On a recent get-a-way from the husband and kids, I met my fellow Eastern Illinois University graduates at the Thunderbird Beach Resort! This was the perfect place to catch up on lost times, reveal new secrets, and bake on the beautiful beach! We were so impressed with the staff (especially Barbara and Janet at the front desk), we made plans to return next year with our husbands!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida/Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Thunderbird is a wonderful get away for anyone doing business in Tampa or St. Pete. Right on the BEACH!!! With everything in walking distance including a Publix super market! The gulf rooms face the Treasure Island public beach, which is spacious and beautiful with everything you need to enjoy the gulf, including warm waters. The cost is reasonable, it is not a high rise, and there are pool and REAL hot tub facilities. The place is replete with families, but as a single person, that was fine with me. The Tiki bar is discrete, tasteful and tasty. The commute to my "work" was 50 minutes to USF campus in Tampa, and it was well, well worth it. St. Pete is a beautiful area. Everything tropical is right down the street from the Thunderbird, like "Charlie's" featuring a 4-hour boat ride to an island with snorkeling/island tour for $35!!! A must do!
These places are rare in the US. Try it, you will like it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deb1ryan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We just spent 5 days at the Thunderbird and had a great time. The rooms were very clean and just the right size. It was great to have a little kitchen that had everything we needed. The staff was exceptional, especially Ken the Security Guard and Barbara at the front desk. The beach was beautiful and so big with crystal clear water and beautiful white sand. On Sunday night there was a Drum Circle on the beach that was unbelieveable, what a great time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We always have a GREAT time when we go to the Thunderbird, whether is for a long weekend, or just a day in the sun with great island music. My friends and I are local, and we stay at T-bird several times a year. I always take my out-of-state friends for at least a 2-3 night stay. We have a pool and the gulf at our finger tips. Everyone is very friendly. Be sure to stay "Hi" to the security guard, Ken. We have known him for a couple of years, and he takes great care of everyone. He handles issues in a professional and friendly fashion. Hope to see you there!! --Pam Patricca

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marion
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

My stay at the sea castle suites was an experience of employees that really cared and went the extra mile to make sure my time at the beach was relaxing and restful. The rooms were comfortable and clean thanks to Edra,Kathy, and Walter. Linda at the front desk during days and Luis at the desk at nights were never too busy to be helpful, warm, and caring. Hope to be back soon to my home away from home!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.