We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 hotels in Treasure Island
Racine, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Secret Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

I spent months planning my family's 1st trip to the Gulf of Mexico and finally made a decision to rent a house "on" the beach. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a broken air condition unit, roaches, a long walk to the beach and fire ants. Deciding not to stay even one night, we called the Thunderbird and Barbara went into action and found us a gulf front room. We could not have asked for a more perfect place. The horse-shoe shaped courtyard is a perfect way to display the large pool that is surrounded by lush Florida greenery. On your way to the beach, you'll pass a tiki bar where live music played nightly. There isn't a bad view in the place. The hotel is very family friendly. Staff is wonderful. A diamond in the rough. The Thunderbird is the only place we will stay; no need to look anywhere else. Thank you, thank you, thank you Barbara. (from the "cheese heads")

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    271
    81
    46
    43
See reviews for
384
284
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

This is the first time I had stayed at the Best Western Sea Castle Suites but it definitely won't be my last! Rooms were very clean, customer service outstanding. I felt like I was in my own little apartment. Plus the television had vast selection of cable channels..

I highly recommend this place to anyone. It's also within close walking distance to many different restaurants/bars. Their pool is very small but very clean and you can use the pool at theThunderbird next door as well. Plus there is a computer in the lobby which you can use free of charge.

Just keep in mind that there are no elevators so if you have a problem with stairs to request a room on the first floor.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

GREAT! GREAT! GREAT!
What more can we say, we came for a day stayed 4 and wished we could stay longer.
Staff was amazing, very friendly, always smiling.
Rooms were clean and the pool was fab.
We will be back.
Thanks a million.

  • Liked — Pool,
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa,FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Great place to stay. Rooms are clean, kitchens could use some updates, but I wasn't there to cook, so didn't really matter. Staff was really friendly and welcoming, Barbara checked us in and she was a joy. Enjoyed the tiki bar and live entertainment. Even the guest were friendly.

  • Liked — Ocean front view
  • Disliked — Outdated kitchen
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Thunderbird Beach Resort the week of Sept. 14th and during our stay on Thursday our room was not cleaned until after 4 PM because the hotel was understaffed for Housekeeping. Well later that evening I went to get my engagement ring and wedding band out of the safe and they were gone along with some Cash and a ring that my husband bought in San Francisco a month earlier. We reported the theft to the front desk and they immediately called the Treasure Island Police Dept. we found out that since the hotel was understaffed they had 2 cleaning girls from the Tahitian help clean that day and well the 2 girls from the Tahitian are the ones that cleaned my room. The officer told us this and he took pictures and fingerprints of the safe. This happened one week ago and we have not heard anything on the investigation. So please watch your valuables. I think these girls should be fired. The Management staff or front desk staff did not express much concern or sympathy I was very disappointed in the Management staff at this hotel. Treasure Island is a very nice place but will not stay here again.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmktampabay, General Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2008
All guest rooms are equipped with key locking safes for guests valubles, at no charge to the guest.

The guests admit the safe key was in their possession at all times. It is not possible to remove the safe key without engaging the locking mechanism.

Management of the hotel is cooperating with our local police detective and has reviewed the police's report made by our guest. While this "review" mentions three rings missing from their safe, the official police report only lists one ring missing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

We would have avoided this hotel for its horrible grey exterior if it wasn't for the discount coupon we had.

However, when you walk inside the lobby, you are greeted with friendly reception and a lovely courtyard with pool leading onto the beach.

Clean rooms and good beach location.

Avoid Sloppy Joe's restaruant at all costs. The food is bland, processed and I'm sure my chicken fillet was microwaved.

  • Liked — Good relaxing courtyard
  • Disliked — Tikki bar closed early!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

I have just returned from a 3 week holiday in America, We stayed at the Thunderbird Beach Resort in Treasure Island, Florida for 8 nights and loved every minute.
It is in a perfect location right on the beach overlooking the gulf coast; I would recommend a Gulf Front room which is an extra £10 ($20), the views are just phenomenal. They have live music most nights which is always good. I must mention a great singer there on a Saturday nights Darrell Clanton “The Dune Doctor” he was amazing. My favourite time was sitting on your balcony watching the sunset listening to the live music at the Tiki Bar.
A top class place well recommended!
I will be going back next year and for many years to come.

  • Liked — The Live Music!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Grouper's Seafood Grill, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.