We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort to your Saves list
Thunderbird Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My family spent 4 nights in this hotel for spring break. Everything was perfect. Only gave it 4 stars because the room was a little more "dated" than I prefer and the bathroom was small. But it was very clean! And you CAN NOT beat the location. We had a 2nd floor gulf view suite, beautiful view!!!. I would definitely go back.....

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    294
    88
    48
    47
See reviews for
414
301
38
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Staff has been friendly and helpful. It's an older hotel but maintained well. We stayed in one of the suites and we could walk to public to buy food for breakfast and lunches. Right on the beach, with clean rooms and pool areas. Lots of great places to eat close by. A great vacation destination!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I've stayed at the Thunderbird for a week during March twice now with my family, once in a poolside room and once in a Gulf view suite. We have young kids and appreciate how easy and relaxing these vacations were. The pools and hot tub are a big hit, and the beach is beautiful and so big that it never seems crowded. We all like the nightly live music that the Thunderbird offers at the poolside Tiki hut around sunset.
The rooms are not fancy and the place is certainly dated, but it is a great location with good restaurants and grocery and drug stores within a couple of blocks. It also backs up to a nice mile or so long paved trail along the beach that is good for stroller walks. The in-room kitchenettes are a big plus so that every meal doesn't have to be a restaurant meal.
When we stayed in the Gulf front suite, we were put next door in what used to be a different motel (bought out by the Thunderbird since our first visit). I was disappointed by that because I thought we were getting a suite in the original Thunderbird with a balcony. So beware of that--the Gulf front rooms that are original to the motel have balconies and the ones in what used to be the motel next door do not.
One other negative for us was the no one under 18 in the hot tub rule. On the cooler days in Spring when it is too cold for the beach and pool, it would be nice for the whole family to be able to enjoy this amenity. The water was pleasantly warm, but certainly not too hot. This negative for us could be a positive for those who are on an adults only vacation. Perhaps the management could institute some family hours and some adults only time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great family friendly resort! The staff is super friendly and helpful! Hotel is older but very well kept. Clean and updated. Old florida at its finest! We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a laid back family friendly place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have been going to Treasure Island Florida for the past 24 years!! We have stayed at the Thunderbird for the past 8 years, we love it! If you are looking for a family enviroment place this is it! Couldn't ask for better staff anywhere, from the time you book to the time you check out all your needs are met. Gotta love the Tiki bar and the music from 3:00 til sunset, it is the best. We met some wonderful people and hope to meet up with them next year.

Room Tip: Now that we are older (50'S) we prefer the gulf front units away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our first stay here as we normally stay at St. Pete's. We chose Treasure Island this year because of the beach trail. My son has to get around on a mobility scooter and the trail allowed him to "stroll" the beach. The staff was exceptional and the rooms not fancy, but clean, which is of higher priority to us. Loved the live music, the restaurant, the neighboring restaurants and nearby shops. We didn't even have to move our car for the four days. Even being spring break, there were no rowdy groups. Great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I came to Fl to visit my Aunt Joyce. She got my friends and I room at the Thunderbird Suite Room 51. It was a great room for all of us. It was a very spacious open room that aloud of to have a roll- away cot and still have plenty of room to move around and enjoy our selves without having to move the roll-away. With the room being right by the busy road, we was shocked to not hear any traffic. The room had a kitchen area that even had stove with in the unit. It was great to use to make meals. When we didn't want to make meals we went to the on site restaurant and had amazing food. The restaurant is an Italian restaurant with amazing, I mean amazing food. We ordered the breakfast pizza one morning and it was great. It made us want to order another the next morning! For dinner we all got pasta which was great. One of my friends got a muscles and pasta dish that was unbelievable! She had gotten more muscles in her pasta dish then she got at a seafood restaurant earlier that week. This resort has two great pools with a very relaxing hot tub. The main pool was located facing the ocean, and the tiki bar right next to it. Which made ordering drinks very fun and easy. During the spring season this resort has live music everyday from 3pm to sunset that was awesome. The entertainers were right by the tiki bar and beach area which made laying out in the sun relaxing while listing to music. All of the local people who came to hang out at the tiki bar/ beach area was a lot of fun and made our spring break even better. The total atmosphere at this resort sings fun, relaxing, and exciting. Along with this amazing resort, I think the view of the sunset from this resort is one of the best on this beach. I would and will recommend this resort to anyone, any day.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view rather its when you step out your door of your room or when your facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.