We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 hotels in Treasure Island
Strasburg, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here on the last 3 days of our Florida vacation 09/12-15/2013. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a short walk out the courtyard to the beach. The room was very nice and quiet. Had a great time on the beach, swam with a school of sting rays and watched the dolphins further out! Totally would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor last room before the gulf view rooms, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    271
    81
    46
    43
See reviews for
384
284
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a issue with a sister hotel, and were ready to drive back home the same night but the the help of Amanda and david k, we stayed at the thunderbird hotel and had a great weekend. thunderbird should be glad for these employee's, they when above and beon what they have to do to make everything right for us, we are now loyal customer of the thunderbird, and have already booked again for October ,Thank you both for all oyur help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Was charmed and comfortable in this resort on the gulf coast of Florida. VERY clean with extremely helpful staff. We truly enjoyed the feel, even updated and new, it still is like going back to Florida in its hey-day. I don't think I can recommend it enough. Prices are wonderful along with the facilities and this makes your trip complete!
I will go back and often!

Room Tip: I think they were all excellent and clean, would just depend on what suits you and your budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 relaxing nights at the end of our vacation in late April 2013 with my husband and two teenage daughters. Location was fabulous (Walgreen's, McDonald's and yummy Britt's Pizza across the street, Publix just a few minutes walk up the street), John's Pass (where we rented sea-doos and went parasailing) was a nice walk (or short drive) up the beach. The hotel was situated right on the beach (though the beach was quite wide at this point so it was a hike to get to the water...worth the walk though). We had a ground floor, gulf-side efficiency unit. The little kitchenette really wasn't equipped all that well and was extremely dated but served the purpose when cooking up a small breakfast each day. Room was dated but decently clean. The beach and pool areas were clean and there was live entertainment each afternoon/evening at the bar by the pool (we just sat on our balcony and listened and hopped over the balcony to get to the bar when we needed a refill on our drinks...being on the ground floor definitely had its advantages. Wi-Fi did not work in our room (which was a major catastrophy for our teenagers) so we had to go sit by the pool anytime we needed internet. Not that sitting by the pool was a chore by any means, but it would have been nice to have that convenience in our room. Staff was friendly. Would stay here again but would also explore what else is available as well just where it's fairly dated. Beautiful, beautiful sunsets!! Love Treasure Island!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel on the gulf was quite enjoyable. We had a water view on the third floor. Room was large and clean with plenty of fresh towels. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Amanda was super and made us feel welcomed. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: shop the rooms for best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

For the past 20 years, my wife and I, who live in Melbourne, FL have been vacationing at the Thunderbird Resort. In each of these years, we have frequented this resort during the months of May, June and September to see the Boston Red Sox play the Tampa Bay Rays.
During each of the aforementioned years, we have brought with us numerous guests to enjoy this relaxing, beautiful ambience at very reasonable rates.
We always look forward to our visits and meeting the friendly customer service personnel, like Missi, Kat, Bob, the owner, David King and their exceptional Director of Maintenance, Johnny Andersen. Every year, the Thunderbird Resort has been constantly developing new innovations to ensure that this Resort is First Class "Home Away From Home" for their guests.
Not only do we enjoy the room, pool and amenities, but we enjoy being able to walk out of our room and enjoy the beautiful, clean ocean.
We will continue to highly recommend the Thunderbird Resort to our business associates and to our friends so that they may be assured of a enjoyable, relaxing vacation at a reasonable price.
One would never regret hosting a wedding reception or business event knowing that the Thunderbird Resort has professional staff to ensure that you have a successful reasonably priced
event.

Room Tip: We especially like the second floor, facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I booked three rooms over the Labor Day weekend for my family of 6 adults and 6 children. Our rooms were wonderful and spacious. We had kitchens in two of the rooms. I would like to add that we are lifetime Florida residents. We were 3 generations born and raised in Florida. Upon check in the staff was wonderful especially Katrina. Unfortunately when we got up on Saturday we discovered in one of the kitchens black ants. They had invaded the entire kitchen and all of the food that my son had brought for the baby and children. my daughter in-law went to the front desk where the young man told her there was not a manager on duty at the time, but for her to return at 11:00am. She did return to discuss the situation but mostly to let them be aware that there was a serious ant problem in this room.
I might add at this time that my son is the manger of a pest control company and has worked in pest control for over 15 years. So he and his wife are aware of where and how these ants live, and trail and how they are prevented.
When she returned to speak with the manager she broke the first rule of customer service she proceeded to blame my daughter in-law by saying " your in Florida, what do you expect" Then she told her "you left your food open, that's what you get when you live in Florida" My daughter in-law asked her why she was yelling at her that she did not come in there yelling at her and taken aback by the managers attitude. The manager then proceeded to slam her hand down on the counter and said "so what do you want for those cupcakes" My daughter in-law was shocked to be talked to so badly and treated with such disrespect that she turned around and walked out.
We were flabbergasted by her rudeness and lack of customer service especially after reading wonderful reviews and having stayed there before as well.
We did not want anything for nothing but compassion and a little understanding would have gone a long way. They have and ant problem in room 312 and really should get it treated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Grouper's Seafood Grill, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.