We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 hotels in Treasure Island
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Thunderbird is a beautiful beach side resort. We had a second floor room with two double beds, which included a mini fridge and a microwave. The entire resort was very clean and well maintained. The staff was attentive and helpful, great pool and hot tub area with a tiki bar. Overall a wonderful experience, can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    271
    81
    46
    43
See reviews for
384
284
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed @ the thunderbird for spring break. We arrived a few hours early prior to check in. We notified them of our arrival. Four hours later and 30 minutes past the check in time, our room was finally ready! We had a suite with kitchenette, however the maid did not wash our dirty dishes or silverware. Never experienced this with other hotels. Kitchenette was old, but functional. Pull out sofa contained a nasty 3inch mattress which had tons of stains. My kids wouldn't even sleep on it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here with our granddaughter and had a blast. The pool was great and had gardens around to just sit out in at night. It was a wide part of the beach and a bit of a walk in the sand which isn't the easiest when you are older, but, it was still a beautiful, clean area and very comfortable, Lots of restaurants and stores within walking distance and the restaurant on the premises is as good as any. We had a fridge in our room so we could have milk and fruit for our girl. Definitely will stay again. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I visited this hotel in the summer last year for a short weekend 'babymoon'. We had such a good time, and I got a great rate for a beachfront hotel. Close enough to restaurants and shopping. A few down sides to point out; the hotel is right on the beach, but the beach is so long that it is quite a walk to the water, but this wasn't a big deal. The room was nice and large, with a living room. The AC could have worked a lot better, but was not bad enough to be uncomfortable. Oh, and parking was tricky! Bet you wouldn't find a spot if you show up late. The good outweighs the bad though, and I will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife & I and our grandson stayed for 6 nights. It is well located, and as for the staff, outstanding, Michelle, our housekeeper, I would bring her home, she not only did a great job, but was always in a good mood and full of joy, Del Juan, worked the evening shift keeping the grounds clean and laundry done worked really hard, and was always smiling and helpful. Doris the housekeeping supervisor kept it all together and was always laughing and jumping right in with her staff..........what a great combination ! We know about the staff, due to having our over energetic 3 year old grandson with us! The staff kept talking to him like the little man he is, and then cleaning up his spills & misfortunes! The only one bad thing I can find , is the "attached restaurant", by far has to be the worst thing there. It picks and chooses it's own hours, never open when it needed to be, and maybe this is wrong, but with children, you need to have accessibility to food when they want food. Very inconvenient to see a restaurant, but never available. You go next door to eat..........why not stay next door? I believe the Thunderbird has so much to offer, but a real turnoff not having convenience of food. Would we stay again, absolutely, because of the staff ! Room was clean, beds comfortable, pool was beautiful!! Thank you for such a good stay! Hello from Canada !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhaven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Girlfriend & I booked a 2 day stay here & loved it! Front desk receptionist (Kelondra) knew who we were as soon as we walked in the door & was more then accommodating with everything we needed. Kat was so helpful as well. Bill the grounds keeper was spectacular w/helping us w/all of our questions regarding references @ John's Pass (Great Place). Tiki Bar w/Vlad was such a warm & enjoyable experience we really did not want to leave. Highly recommend the Thunderbird Beach Resort to anyone, family, friends to stay @ this fun resort! It's an experience you'll never forget. We loved everything about this resort & wouldn't stay anywhere else for our next trip! Loved every minute of our pleasant stay!!!!!!!!!! Everything is within walking distant also including the gulf. "Fabulous"

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are a fabulous location to everthing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We really enjoyed the oceanview room, and being able to sit on the patio smelling the ocean. The room was clean and the staff attentive. There was nice live music nightly that did not stay too late. Bed was older and not the most comfortable,and the doors allowed sound into the room. Very nice area and the grounds were well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Grouper's Seafood Grill, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.