We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort to your Saves list
Thunderbird Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Treasure Island
West Union, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great place for a older property! Great views of the gulf. Excellent housekeeping our room was very well serviced! Friendly front desk people very helpful! relaxing pool and hot tub area.
Only complaint was not enough parking for both properties when motels were full! Would recomend to everyone.

Room Tip: Get in at the thunderbird!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    294
    88
    48
    47
See reviews for
414
301
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milaca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been going down to this Resort for many years. And we have always been happy. But this year the staff at the motel was the best ever. We stay in the part that use to be called the Sea Castle but is now owned by the Thunderbird. All the maids that where on staff on that part of the hotel were the best. Always happy and polite and making sure we had everything we needed. Our housekeeper for most of our stay was Tonya, she took the best care of us. Always polite and nice and seemed to really care that we were having a great stay. But i have to say all the housekeepers always seemed to be so happy and extremely respectful so i believe they all need to be mentioned ( Janice, Rita, Kira, Yule, Kathy, Chantell ). You should be proud of these employees. This motel is a older motel, but is always clean and all the improvements they are making makes this a wonderful place to spend a couple of weeks. thanks for a great vacation and we can't wait tll next year!!!!

Room Tip: stay on the second floor in room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Although we had a really good family vacation here two years ago, my husband and I were greeted by an unfriendly woman who was not interested in assisting us as we were looking forces room for two nights and she could only offer one. Therefore she brushed us off in a very rude manner

Despite having spent an enjoysble week there tri years ago we would not stay again or recommend to others

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went to Thunderbird many years ago and thought we would try it again for new Years Eve had great memories from before. The rooms were very nice and clean. we had Yuhne for a attendant and she did above and beyond her job.
totally enjoyed the beach, bars & restaurants , definitely recommend them,

Room Tip: the front rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After 4 years we had the chance to came back to the fantastic Thunderbird Beach Resort and we still love it.
Everything is in very good conditions, our two rooms on the second floor as well as the bathroom are sparkling clean. The gardens are beautiful with fresh flowers everywhere.
We stayed for 7 nights to celebrate Christmas and to relax in the nice warm Florida sunshine. The location right at the huge beach is perfect for this.
The new Soleil Bistro had just opened and we could enjoy a good breakfast on the patio. Last but not least the free WiFi worked very well everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

we stopt for 2 nights visithing friends on the westcoast, they where working hard to renovade without beying " noisy or in the way", the room was verry clean and the staff verry friendly, Susan & Maurice
I put average for the value because the tiki bar the lounge and restaurant where closed but when open the value would be exeptionel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for a one night stop over hoping for a fun, romantic night. I was intrigued to try out the "charm of old Florida" in a beachside motel. It wasn't terrible and rooms were decent in terms of cleanliness, but the term "resort" does not apply to this property. The pool is not appealing and the chairs, etc. say "cheap."

I wish I could post a better review. I really do. But nearby I think you can do much better for comparable prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.